Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Reading Dangerously

on January 8, 2016

Some governments, schools, and parents try to prevent children and young adults from reading books that are “dangerous” or not “age appropriate” (for example: books about sex, war, drugs, rebellion, anti-religious, etc). Others argue that these “dangerous” books are often good for teaching them about adult issues, challenging their views, and making them more empathetic to different types of people. Besides, “dangerous” books can be more fun to read and, if so, will get people interested in reading even more.

Please answer ONE of the following questions in the comments:

1) What book helped to change your life, thinking, or opinion?

2) What is your opinion about allowing children and young adults to read “dangerous” books?

These vocabulary words will be important: to skew, a poll, to be risky, a psyche

21 responses to “Reading Dangerously

  1. Ayumi Nakahara(T4) says:

    I choose question 2.
    I disagree about allowing children to read “dangerous” books. That is because children are pure, so they believe all of the contents of those books, even if there is so much exaggeration in those books. If so, children may be afraid of this world or adults or something. It is enough for chidren to realize the adult issues through “dangerous” books when they become adults. Therefore, I think only people who can acertain whether stories are true or not should be allowed to read those books.

  2. Tomoka Mori says:

    Hi,Matt. I will answer question number 1.
    I often read books, and I like a book which breaks my stereotype, and gives me great shock. I think these books help me to change my life, because that gives us different thinks.

  3. Rika Morofuji (T4) says:

    I would like to answer question2.

    I think it depends on the theme of the books whether children should read “dangerous” books or not.
    I do not agree with allowing children to read such books. But, if its object is for education, it is needed for young adults to read.
    And considering the age of children is also important. It is difficult for elementary school students or junior high school students to deal with information correctly. But, high school students have higher ability to do that.

  4. Akari Yamada (T4) says:

    I’ll answer question2.
    I agree with allowing children and young adults to read “dangerous” books. Reading such a kind books will help them to learn these “dangerous” issues. Some parents maybe say “we should stop our child from learning these issues because it has a bad influence” but I think they have to teach about these issues. That is even if their children read these kind of books, there is no problem as far as they tell them why these things are dangerous and how to face these things.

  5. Chikako Tsuge(T4) says:

    I will answer to the question 2.
    These dangerous books are not good for children and young adults to read, because they contain inappropriate words or information. But I think these information are often needed when they grow up, so I cannot say it’s totally bad to let them read these books.

  6. reina inoue T4 says:

    I’ll answer question1.
    Ths book that helped change my thinking is “Elegance Lives in Youkai Apartment”. A lounly boy happen to live in the apartment which have a lot of gost neightbors and some atracive strong humans!! It’s not scarely story, but heart warming story and we can learn “what’s the life” and
    “how can we live satisfy” from this book!! I cryed many times during reading these books!!

  7. Rio Sato(T4) says:

    I will answer question number 2.
    I think that we should allow children and young adults to read such “dangerous” books. In my experience my parents do allow me to read all of books, but I don’t have an interest in it, so I don’t read it. However I think that these books teach children very important thing. They can know about adults world and issues. So in my opinion adults should write books about it in simple words for children.

  8. Aiko Narasaki says:

    I think it is necessary for children and young adult to read “dangerous” books, because they can know about “dangerous” things from many perspective. The “dangerous” things especially war or sex are often really important, but they are hard for adults to teach. And also, there are many opinion around these themes, so children and young adults should listen to many adults with different background. If it is difficult to meet many adults, books can play the role.

  9. Yuka Hattori says:

    I will answer the second question.
    I think that let children and young adults read
    such dangerous vook is not bad for them. This is because such books make them notice what kind of danger there are among adults without experiencing directly. It helps them prepare for dangers by the time they will become adults. Certainly, in some respect, some say that it is bad for them because they may be inyterested in dangerous things by reading books. However, compared to a case that they encounter such dangers suddenly when they become adults, it is better for children to touch them in childhood. Learning dangers when they are surrounded by many trustworthy adults like parents is better than learning them when they will be adults because sooner or later, children will know such things.

  10. Keisuke Koyama says:

    Hi,Matt!
    I’ll answer the first one.
    I believe there is no book not to read. All books have, in a way, good influence on yourself. However, Taking young age into account, there is appropriate ones for each age at some degree. So I recommend children should read favorite books firstly, and after that they ought to read a whole varieties of books . they can absolutely get interested in reading itself.

  11. Yao T4 says:

    Hi, Matt.
    I’d like to answer the second question. I myself don’t read those books so it’s hard for me to judge how dangerous they are. But I think it’s OK for children and young adults to read some of them in a proper way. Because if you just force them not to read those things, it will stir up their curiosity probably and make them want to read. Also if they don’t know how dangerous they are, they won’t have the ability to deal with them in the future, and it will be hard for them to accept the dark side of life. People can not live in the fairytales. Adults should not be afraid to tell children those dangerous things but should teach them how to see them right.

  12. Emi Tanaka(T4) says:

    I choose question 2.
    I think children and young people should read these “dangerous” books. If they don’t know about war, sex, drug or so on and grow, they will be shocked by the truth when they become adults. And we can learn and imagine these things through reading; texts. Therefore we don’t have to see shocking scenes such as movie and TV shows. Children’s mental stress will be reduced.

  13. Keishu Joi(T4) says:

    I chose question1.

    The book which intersts me is “1984” by George Orwell. He writes about the danger of a huge company of power. If a company have a huge power to govern people, and they go to extreme, the very strict regulation of imformation will be gotten started. That will be awful, he says.
    So the book makes me think about the “POWER” .

  14. Mika Osada(T4) says:

    I’ll answer the question 2. I think allowing children young adults to read dangerous books is sometimes good and sometimes bad. When the reader is too immature to know what is good and what is bad, he would believe everything written in “dangerous” book. His way of thinking would be influenced by “dangerous” ideas. However, when the reader has a standard of value, he would see what is written in the book as one way of thinking.

  15. Ichiyo Shimizu says:

    Question 2
    I don’t think those books are suitable for children because they wouldn’t understand or it would end up with giving them fear, but maybe for young adults, it can be o.k. Those who are in their adolescence must be interested in those dangerous topics and such issues are also social problems, so books about them can be good in that thinking about such issues. However, such books are sometimes so stimulating that you might remember only violent or sexual scene and don’t remember story or theme. This is a meaningless thing so I think too much dangerous books should not be allowed.

  16. Atsushi Igarashi(T4) says:

    I’ll answer the question No.2. I think it is ok not to allow young children to read such “dabagerous” books. But it doesn’t mean they should not read them. When we are told not to do something, suddenly they want to do it. Maybe, parents tell thier children to read sach books, children will be less interested in books like that. Prohibition always causes curiousity.

  17. Kenji (T4) says:

    hi, Matt.

    I love reading. A lot of glorious classical works enrich my body and soul. I really appreciate their huge accomplishment.

    Especially, “new ageism” in 80’s is now my intellectual groundwork. “new age” is a intellectual counter culture toward “non-limit-growth-myth”, and among this new culture, “Turning Point(1984)” by Fritjof Capra, Austrian-born American physicist, carry great ideological weight on the “new age”. He criticized ,in this book, reductionist thinking, which dominate in western modern society, and insisted the importance on the development of a holistic vision toward the world. This book really cover about everything from religious, science, philosophy to politic, economy, social and then explain the relationship between all those. It did make me a better person by seeing the bigger picture of what we didn’t recognize. It sure made me think more, question more, explore more, seek more..and so on.

    Thanks

  18. Yu Kobayashi (T4 ) says:

    I answer question number 2.
    I think purpose in the most important thing. So if the book is helpful for the children or young adult , it should be read by them even if the content of the book is dangerous.Then the problem is how to distinguish what is helpful and what is not. I think it can be distinguished by whether he or she is interested in the topic.If they are interested in and really want to read the book, ,that is the good time to get various point of view. So they can understand well and rethink appropriately at that time. So I say if they are really want to read in order to get new information thy need, dangerous topic book can be helpful for them.
    See you!

  19. Ayaka Kishino(T4) says:

    I choose the second question.
    When I knew the theme of this article, it reminded me of the recent news that “Mein Kampf,”written by Adolf Hitler, are now republished with critical reviews . There are many positive and negative ideas about it all over the world. I’m not sure if it is good or bad, but it is exactly true that the book is the one o the worst book in humans ‘ long history.
    I think the restrictions about the content of published books should be minimum because children can’t know what is “the bad thing” and what is good one without the illustrations or examples in books. If there is no chance to know indirectly the bad things, children can do bad things easily without feeling guilty. Dangerous books can educate children.However, it is important to let children know their dangerousness.

  20. Yuki Yokomizo (T4) says:

    Hi, I’m Yuki. I’m sorry for belated comment.
    I chose the second answer. In my case, I don’t want to read “dangerous” books. But I’ve already known what is right or bad. So, I think forbidding children or young adults from reading such books shouldn’t be a problem. On the other hand, in terms of ideas or beliefs like religious, we must not force them not to read. It’s a good opportunity to expand their points of view. The most advantage by reading a book is to gain another way of thinking. For example, I was fond of one comic book when I was an elementary school student. That was about children with autism. Through this comic, I could learn about people with disabilities and how to deal and communicate with them. If a country’s atmosphere was like discriminating them, this comic would be removed. That’s why it’s important to choose appropriately which books are “dangerous.”
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

