Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Reading: Movie and Restaurant Reviews

on December 16, 2015

five_starsIn the next class, we will be practicing reading movie/restaurant reviews. For homework, please read one of the short movie reviews HERE and in the comments, answer ONE of the following questions:

1. What was challenging about the reading?

2. What difficult/interesting vocabulary did you find in the reading? Could you guess the meaning?

3. Did you notice anything about the style of writing?

Also, these vocabulary words will be important: “style-over-substance”, novelty, the 1979 Iranian hostage crisis

22 responses to “Reading: Movie and Restaurant Reviews

  1. Yuka Hattori says:

    I will answer the question 1. I have difficulty in meaning of words. Many words I have never seen before were included in articles. For example, “tear-jerking” and “heavy handed”. Especially, terms describing people characters are difficult to understand because most of such terms are long and hard to read.
    In addition, gramers which were used in a web are not always correct. Some sentences are written as an author is speaking. Therfore, I was perplexed to get the meaning of them several times.
    However, in total, reading what I don’t usually read was interesting!

  2. Tomoka Mori says:

    I will answer the question 1. 
    My choosing moving is “green inferno”. And it is difficult for me to understand what he wrote.It maybe many part of what he wrote be relation to politics, and the metaphor plentiful. For example,”A band of idealistic, privileged, millennial activists” ,”logging”,”schlockmeister”.
    But, after reading this reviews, somehow I understood author’s standpoint. He maybe criticize this movie. In other reviews, which wrote by Japanese, this movie won the praise of Japanese audience. So,his opinion was fresh for me.

  3. Mika Osada(T4) says:

    I read the review of He Named Me Malala and I want to answer the question 3; Did you notice anything about the style of writing?
    The commenter tries to tell what he/she wants to say most in the short review. He/she tells how his/her way of thinking changed after watiching film.
    The reader will want to watch the movie after reading the review.

  4. Yu Kobayashi (T4 ) says:

    I will answer question No.3.
    There are some points that makes me feel difficult to read it.
    First, the grammar is not right I think. So it is hard for me to understand the connections between the words.
    Second , there are many commas in one sentience . That also makes the sentence be not simple.
    And also the vocabularys and the expressions are unique and difficult for me.
    Anyway it’s difficult!
    See you tomorrow!

  5. Rika Morofuji (T4) says:

    I would like to answer question 1.
    I read the review of “THE PEANUTS MOVIE “.
    As for grammatical points or structures of the article , I felt they were not complicated so much. But, there were many words I did not know its meaning, and some of them were strange. For example, ” cash-grab”, “Aaugh!”, “3-friggin’-D “, and so on. This made me feel difficulty. Easy expressions were also used in the review. Therefore, I got what the writer wanted to say roughly, but could not understand for detail.
    Reading such contexts was difficult, but interesting for me.

  6. Akari Yamada (T4) says:

    I will answer question3.
    As for roughly outline I think the these reviews are easy to understand for people who haven’t watch the movie. However these reviews use many words which non native speaker don’t use so I couldn’t understand the opinion of the writer.
    Also these reviews are little long to read but there is a video introduced the movie on the review site so I could understand more easily.

  7. Chikako Tsuge (T4) says:

    I will answer to the question 3.
    I read “Woman in Gold.” A short introduction and comments about this movie were written there, and because it’s a short review, I think some difficult words were used.
    And I felt the writing style is really compact, it doesn’t include any needless sentences. To search for what to watch, reading this kind of reviews is quick and helpful I guess.

  8. reina inoue T4 says:

    I will answer the question1.
    I read the one about “Star Wars the forse awake”. I knew little bit about the movie but it was difficult to understand the review. I don’t know the name of character, so it’s hard for me to understand the details about outline of the movie…

  9. Ayumi Nakahara(T4) says:

    I chose question1.
    I read “Persona Non Grata.” I have watched this movie’s preview before. However, it was difficult for me to understand the contents of this review. That is because the words which are used in this review are little difficult. Maybe this review is written for the native speakers.
    Moreover, I don’t know the history of Japan in detail. If I know more about the history of Japan, I will be able to understand this review more clearly. Background is very important.

  10. Miki Kashiwa says:

    I will answer the question 1.
    I read the review of “The Peanuts Movie”. Although I knew a little about the cartoons of “Peanuts”, I couldn’t undersatand the review well. Some words in it were difficult for me, and also the unique expressions( maybe only native speakers use ) were hard to understand.
    However,I think this kind of texts are worth reading for me because not only I can get interesting information but also I can experience real English.

  11. Aiko Narasaki says:

    I read review of ” the Woman In Gold”.
    I have seen the trailer before, so I didn’t have difficulty in reading the article.
    The part which introduces the movie story was written in present tense. I thought this was the style of writing review. And of course there were no spoiler!

  12. Ichiyo Shimizu says:

    Question 1
    I’ve read the reviews of Star Wars and the Snoopy. Because I’ve seen Star Wars from episode 1 to 6 and I have some information about it, like characters or actors, I almost understood the review. In opposite, I know Snoopy but I’m not familiar with its background. I don’t know the author and I’ve never seen its anime or comics, so it was difficult what the review mentions. Thus, if I have some information of the movie, it’s easy to read the review, but if not, it is a little bit hard.

  13. Rio Sato(T4) says:

    I read the movie review of Star Wars: The Force Awakens and I want to answer question 1.
    I think it will be difficult for you that you understand the movie reviews, if you don’t know any information about the movie. Especially when the movies have another edition.
    I couldn’t understand well the movie reviews of Star Wars, because I have never watched “Star wars “.

  14. Keisuke Koyama (Chankei) says:

    I read a short article about one of the most catching movies: Star Wars.
    There was some words I didn’t know in the light of Q2.
    For example, at the top of it, it says,”Let’s cut to the space chase: Relax, it’s nothing like those three misbegotten prequels.”
    I haven’t heard ‘misbegotten’. It sounds like missing something to get.
    And in addition to that, there was several words I didn’t know because of another reason.
    Actually, I don’t know about the movie pretty much.

  15. Emi Tanaka(T4) says:

    I answer question 1.
    I read the short review of “Comet.”
    It’s not easy to understand the point of this review because the writer can’t describe what was the story like, in particular the ending of the movie. He mentions mainly the construction and the way of shooting a film. So there are a lot of words which mean something abstract; for instance “elegance and fussiness.” But I think we will be able to guess the atmosphere of the story by using the contrast between the two words.

  16. Yao T4 says:

    Hi, Matt. I’m Yao.
    I’d like to answer the question 1.
    I read the review of “The Peanuts movie”. I think the most difficult part is that I hadn’t watch the movie before I read. The writter wrote the review supposing who read the review must have seen the movie.So he skipped the plot and express his feelings directly, which I have no sense what he’s talking about. Plus, the words are difficult. Too many words that I don’t know so I can not even just guess.

  17. Yuki Yokomizo (T4) says:

    Hi, Matt! I’m Yuki.
    I read the review of “PERSONA NON GRATA,” Japanese title “Sugihara Chiune.”
    And I’ll answer question 1&2. I’m interested in diplomatic relations. Of course I have already known him and his accomplishment. So, in the early part I could understand meanings of the review. But, maybe because I usually don’t write or read the review of something, it was challenging for me to read the latter part, not explanation of the movie but the author’s review.
    I have a lot of unknown words. The most difficult sentence is “Though heavy-handed and tear-jerking at times, the flick captures the zeitgeist of the era and intense humanity of Sugihara(Toshiaki Karasawa) as well as his wife Yukiko(Koyuki), who consulted with her husband.” I guess the first word is “though,” so words of “heavy-handed” or “tear-jerking” gives me bad impression. But I also feel “tear-jerking” is like “cannot help crying.” I don’t know.
    I’m thinking of go watching this movie. It seems interesting.
    Thank you.

  18. Keishu Joi(T4) says:

    Hi matt!

    I chose question1 and i watch the traiter of STARWARS7(actually i already have seem the movie) .
    What was challening me is the difficulty of listening itself. One of the reasons is some lines are pronounced by low voice…its difficult to catch.
    Also , almost of the lines in the movie are spoken language, and i am not famillier with it . So it is hard.

  19. Atsushi Igarashi(T4) says:

    I read the review of STAR WARS. I’ll answer the question No.1.
    I watched STAR WARS 1-6 when I was a small child, but I don’t remember all the contents. In the review, there are many names of the charactar which I know, but I don’t actually remember what they did in the past movies. So it is challenging for me to skim the review and imagine how the movie is going.

  20. Kenji (T4) says:

    Hi, Matt. I’m Kenji from T4.
    I’d like to answer the question 1.
    I read the review of “WHIPLASH”, which is on the top of my list for best movies of last year.

    Despite I watched it two or three times, It was tough for me to grasp some adjective which describe movies down to deep details, “cathartic”, “Machiavellian” and “Full Metal Julliard” and some background information that is general for movie-lover.

    Since I have a limited vocabulary, it looks hard for me to enter the world of critics for the movies or musics ,books etc. Then I need the way to enjoy read and write reviews without buzzwords, or jargons.

    Thanks,
    Kenji

  21. Natsumi Mizumura (T4) says:

    Hi Matt!
    I’m very sorry for my absence in the last week class. Last week, I had heavy sick and I couldn’t take contact you.

    This week question, I’ll answer the second one.
    I read the article, “spectre”
    Daniel Craig remains the best Bond, whose name isn’t Sean Connery”
    I know this movie series, but I found several difficult words. One of it is “kick-ass”. I guess this, I can understand “kick” means hitting someone by leg. And I don’t know “ass” meaning, but guessing from this article, it is maybe slung words.

  22. Ayaka Kishino(T4) says:

    I read the review about”the Little Prince” because I do want to see this movie, and I will answer to the question no.2.
    The whole review is written in easy English, but I’be never met one word,”ethereal”before.
    From the context, I guess this word means something like “fiction”or”fairy tale”, however I also associate this word with chemical terms because there are many words which use “ether-” in chemistry.
    So I don’t know the exact meaning of “ethereal” but I think this word shows the feature of “the Little Prince.”

Leave a Reply

