Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Reading: Take a Nap to Get Ahead at Work

on October 28, 2015

Naps boost work performance and improve health.

In the next class we will practice our reading skills in order to prepare for the Achievement Check on November 17th. We will read a magazine article from a magazine called Bloomberg Businessweek and the article’s title is “Take a Nap to Get Ahead at Work”.

These vocabulary words will be important: to take a nap, productivity, cognitive performance.

In the comments, please make a prediction about what we are going to read about.

*REMEMBER: next class is 11/10*

21 responses to “Reading: Take a Nap to Get Ahead at Work

  1. Yuka Hattori says:

    Hi,Matt!
    I think that we will read an article about how can we do our work efficiently. I mean we can keep productivity of our work when we take a nap as an rest in the afternoon. I have heard that there is a junior high school which take a nap before afternoon classes in order to getting rid of students’stress and make them concentrate on the classes. Actually, that news may come up with the idea I mentioned earlier. Certainly, once I take a nap when I feel tired, I recover after the nap. I often used that way to study hard untill late night. In addition, as written in an article, taking a short sleep at appropriate moment, we can do cognitive performance in high level, so taking a nap is a good thing for human brain.

  2. Rio Sato(T4) says:

    I think we will read an article about taking a nap can help us work well. When I heard the article’s title “Take a nap to get ahead at work” , my experience of a student preparing for an exam flashed across my mind. Last year I had to study every day and I always looked for the way to study productively. Then I was able to find a way that taking a nap before I start to answer the questions. This was really good way for me to concentrate on the questions and this never brought drowsiness to me. So I think that the author want to tell like my story to many people in this article.

  3. Yuki Yokomizo (T4) says:

    Hi, Matt! I’m Yuki.
    Maybe we will read about work productivity.
    It is true that taking a nap in the class is a bad thing. But if we take a nap before we want to concentrate on work or study, it will be efficient for us. So I recommend that we make a time to take a nap after lunch in school life and at work. Our productivity will be increased, and Our cognitive performance will be better!
    Thank you.

  4. Rika Morofuji (T4) says:

    From the title of the article and vocabulary words, I guess that the writer wants to recommend taking a nap while working .
    If you work for a long time, you get tired and the quality of work becomes worse. I heard this leads you to make mistakes more easily. By taking a nap, you can draw the line between work and break, and be focused on working.

  5. Emi Tanaka(T4) says:

    I think the topic is what we can do in order to work efficiently. We have to go to the office early in the morning, and handle our own works. Sometimes especially in Japan, we need overtime work. It isn’t surprising to become sleepy during work. One of the solutions is to take a nap. I usually try doing this after eating lunch or before a class for about twenty minutes. As a result of it, I can feel refreshed and keep awake. Moreover it improves my cognitive performance and makes me concentrate on the work. In this article, the writer will show a research on productivity when some subjects take a nap compared to a case they don’t have a short sleep.

  6. Ichiyo Shimizu says:

    I guess the article is saying that when you are tired from your work and are reluctant to continue, you can be refreshed and resume working after taking a nap. I think so because my own experience. When I was in high school, my teacher recommended us to taking a nap after we finish lunch while afternoon break. Then, he told us that it is important to sleep for 15~20 minutes or so, not for 1 hour. He was also saying that getting short sleep help us concentrate on studying in the afternoon. So I tried. Actually he was right. Usually, I used to feel sleepy during the class after lunch, but after I took a nap, I didn’t feel sleepy at all. I was like switched or cleared or something like that. So, for this experience, I predict the article tells us the importance of taking a nap to improve efficiency.

  7. Akari Yamada (T4) says:

    Judging from this title I think this article tells us the importance of the nap to get ahead at work and the best way to take a nap.
    I agree with this article. When I was a junior&high school student, I did this way. For instance, when I got sleepy during my examination week, I always take a nap for 10~15 min. This get me to take my study very seriously that is taking a nap to get ahead at work make better progress than putting up with the sleep and keeping studying sleepily.
    I want to get an more beneficial information from this article and utilize the way which is said in this.

  8. Yu Kobashi(T4) says:

    I think we will read about whether nap helps us concentrate to our job. Sometimes I heard that nap or short rest is good for us to get ahead at what we do next.
    Actually I feel I can concentrate something after take a nap. For example , when I was a highschool student, sometimes I was really sleepy after class . But if I take a nap then, I often feel that I am not sleepy and I could keep awake during the class.
    So I think we will learn about how nap affects us to concentrate to work.
    See you!

  9. Aiko Narasaki says:

    I have heard that people can’t be active enough to study or work over 6 hours and you need to take a nap. I completely agree with the idea because however long time I sleep at night, I always become sleepy during classes.
    If our university introduce napping system, students could study more effectively.

  10. Ayumi Nakahara(T4) says:

    I think that this text tells us the importance of taking a nap. When we take it, we can have a clear head and concentrate on the task we have to finish. Actually, I use this way when I become tired.
    However, we have to be careful that don’t sleep too much. I heard that 15 minutes is the best time for a nap. If we exceed that time, we have a thick head. I think this text also tells us a detail of nap, such as time. Next time I expect to learn what a nap bring us.

  11. Chikako Tsuge (T4) says:

    I think we will read about the positive points of taking a nap. I have heard many times that taking a nap afternoon is very good for us, it enables us to be productive compared to not taking it. So they say actually few companies and schools are doing it in work place and classroom. Personally I think we should do it too, we will be refreshed after a nap and will be able to concentrate on studying much better.

  12. Keisuke Koyama says:

    Hi,Matt!
    Actually, I’m in a terribly bad mood now, but I’ll do this task because I have to…
    I think we’ll read a article about how we can have our work get better.
    In Japan, going on working hard without taking a break was believed that the only things we could get great achievement. However, looking at what you wrote on this website, it seems tobe wrong.

  13. Yao T4 says:

    Hi,Matt! I’m Yao in T4 class.
    I think maybe we are going to read a article about how to improve work productivity. And taking a nap can be an effective way to improve our efficiency as well as our cognitive performance, though I don’t really understand what cognitive performance is. But I do think when we are very tired, taking a nap can let us be more energetic and be prepared for the next work. I used to take a nap everyday in my highschool. Because we have a lot of classes all day long. And if I didn’t take a nap, I definitely would fall asleep during the class.

  14. reina inoue T4 says:

    When I saw the word “taking a nap” , it reminds me a research which I read. According to the research, one grupe who took a nap for 30minitute at the lounch time achieve better results rather than the other grupe who did not take a nap. I heard this when I was a 18years old, last year. So Iafter that I tried to take a nap everyday and I felt good after nap. I think we can learn the importance of taking a nap!!

  15. Miki Kashiwa says:

    I think we are going to read an article about the usefulness of taking a nap for efficient work. I heard that taking a nap is good because we can concentrate on our work after nap. However, I also heard that it is not good to sleep long time in the daytime. So, I also think that we will know when and how long is the best to take a nap for efficient work .

  16. Tomoka Mori says:

    Hi,Matt. I think we will read a article about taking a nap, and that can improve efficiency of our works. From my experience, I can say it is true. I have taken a nap after my lunch since I was a child. And, after a short sleeping, my brain exactly became clear, although I slept only 10 minutes. Taking a nap, its good effect have been scientifically proven , and already become one culture of European countries .

  17. Ayaka Kishino(T4) says:

    I guess that we will read about the taking a nap as a strategy. Because I have heard that taking a nap for appropriate time make you concentrate on what you do and be more productive than you continue to do all the time.
    I think it is true.
    I allways start to do homework or reports the night before its deadline…and as you know,I sometimes fall asleep and sleep for 31-2 hours before finish it.
    Then,I have to do it in the little and limited time in the morning.
    However, I feel that my brain work so better in the morning of the deadline day. Actually, I don’t know the increase of productivity come from the pressure or it is the result of the nap.

  18. Mika Osada says:

    Hi, Matt.
    I think we will read an article about taking a break efficiently. I heard taking a 15-minute nap when we get tired is good for our brain. By doing it, we can concentrate on work or study. Whenever I take a nap, I sleep for about 3 hours and regret wasting time. I would like to know the way of taking a good nap.

  19. Natsumi Mizumura (T4) says:

    Hi Matt!
    I’m sorry for my absence the week before last. But now I’m getting better than before, so I’m looking forward to today’s class.

    Then, I guess this week topic. I think we will read the article about how we work efficiently. For my experience, when I do anything like a work and study, I can’t do work satisfactory without taking a some rest especially sleeping. So we will think about taking nap while working. And I’m sure that taking nap is good for our active activity, so TUFS should introduce taking nap system, I think.

  20. Keishu Joi(T4) says:

    Hi,Matt.

    As you said above, I think we are going to read about taking a nap.
    I already know that we can work after we take a nap. So I use the way when I have to study hard .

    Actually, this fact is discovered medically. I saw that on TV.
    So I think next class is about those medical discovery about taking a nap.

  21. Kenji (T4) says:

    Hi Matt,

    I guess the next class sounds about a profound connection between sleep and concentration. When I worked for a company and suffered sweated labor, I usually took brief nap for improving my productivity. In fact I find napping effective and durable resolution to achieve more result, or to provide more benefit for my employer.

    Actually in nature napping is not component of labor but that makes our lives spiritually affluent.

Leave a Reply

