Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Magazine Articles

on October 6, 2015

south-australia

One of the activities next week will include summarizing and skimming four short magazine articles. Look at all four titles below. Choose one, think about it, then in the comments tell us what kind of information you think we might see OR what background information you already know.

Article 1: “What’s in a Name: South Australia”

Article 2: “Lost Youth: Middle East Urban Affairs”

Article 3: “War Reporters”

Article 4: “Book Truck: Tokyo”

Also, these vocabulary words will be important next week: regional identity, to quadruple, informal accommodation, shelter deprivation, mass transit, a hundred square meters, a target customer

20 responses to “Magazine Articles

  1. Keisuke Koyama (chankei) says:

    Hi,Matt!
    How was your summer? I and my friends visited “Kamakura” ,where is famous for “samurai” culture. I have really enjoyed that.
    In any case, some international matters was very controversial this year. One of them was practically related to the the article 3 “War Reporters”. A certain Japanese journalist who went to middle-east Asia was caught by ISIS. It’s sure that he must address the controversial battle because of his job, but he also has to pay attention to himself.
    Seeing that news, I was so scared and I felt the war reporter is important but their own life is more important than the information they can give to us.
    That’s the things I know about the problem related to today’s war reporters.

  2. Yuka Hattori(T4) says:

    Hi, Matt! I chose the article4 “Book Truck :Tokyo” because I like reading books ,especially fantasy stories, and I have a experience being related to the theme of the article.
    When I was in Nageya city, I found that one truck was parked by a park. I felt strange and went near. then see the inside of the truck. There were a lot of books! I was really excited!
    In addition, I have heard that trucks with many supplies went to areas stricken by tunami when theGreat Japan earthquake was occurred. The products which were carried by the trucks include books for children. Children who lived in such particular area had no goods for a pastime at that time, so someone came up with an idea that sending books to them may makes them happy. I strongly agree with the idea.
    I guess we might see suck kind of information next time.

  3. Nishibori Hibiki (T4) says:

    I choose the title “War Reporters”.
    I think that this article writes about one of the war reporters. We should know about them because we never get much necessary information without war reporters. For example we know about Middle East especially Syria from coverage of them.
    Now there are many wars in the world, and many war reporters go to a combat area. Some reporters are killed because enemy misunderstands a camera which reporters have and a weapon. However they never stop to go to dangerous zones. We don’t know how they spend in these areas, why they go there to report and cover us and how they gather information very well. Reading this article, we may be able to know about war reporters at great length.

  4. Mika Osada(T4) says:

    Hi, Matt! How was your summer? For me, the summer vacation was too long. I’m so happy to meet you and classmates for the first time in 3months.
    I choose the forth article because it looks interesting. I don’t know about book truck at all. I’ve never heard that word before, so I will have a guess.
    I think that the book truck is the truck filled with books. People can get into the truck and see the books. You can get some books if you want to. The truck does not stay at the same place. It’s something like the mobile bookstore or the transportation where we can read books I guess.

  5. Emi Tanaka(T4) says:

    I choose the article 2 “Lost Youth: Middle East Urban Affairs.”
    First of all, there are many kinds of urban problems such as traffic congestion, trash, smell pollution and smog. But in the Middle East, especially among the young, income gaps are mainly related to the problem.
    Now in the area, they have rapidly built super skyscrapers or huge shopping centers. I have heard foreign workers, which are mostly from South Asia, are employed as cheaper labor. As a result, the local young men are out of work. Because of earning very little, they have to live in the slums, bad circumstances.
    On the other hand, some people prosper in the financial industry. This growing wealth gap causes not only the social anxiety but also the urban affairs.

  6. Ichiyo Shimizu says:

    Hello, Matt. I’m really glad to see you again !
    From the title “What’s in a name : South Australia”, I guess that regional names in South Australia have some meanings. In ancient time, there might be an ethnic group and they used their own language. Then the people named all of places in their special language and some of them still remain until now. So they have some meanings that we don’t know. I thought this because in the map of South Australia, which is on the top of this page, there are some unfamiliar names like “Oodnadatta” or “Woomera”. Hokkaido also has a lot of Ainu names which we don’t know what it means. Maybe this is also true to South Australia, I guess.

  7. Akari Yamada(T4) says:

    Hi, Matt. It’s been a while!
    I choose an article 4. I have heard about Book Truck before. If I remember correctly, the Book Truck bring many kinds of books and it change every time depending on the driver’s recommendation. I like to read but these days I can’t make a time for looking for books which I want to read. But this style books store saves me a lot of time because I don’t have to go to the book store. Judging from this article title, “Book Truck : Tokyo”, maybe this truck only runs in Tokyo. So I wish this truck runs in many more place like Saitama, Chiba and so forth. By doing this, more and more people get a chance to read a book more easily.

  8. Rika Morofuji (T4) says:

    I’d like to think about the article 3.
    In the article, I guess war reporters convey the situation of Middle East areas by using pictures. For example,how people live there, children who are forced to work without going to school, people who cannot go to hospital, refugee camps,and so on.
    And war reporters in the article message what important point their work is or what they want to say to people. I think we can understand about work of war reporter well .

  9. Ayumi Nakahara(T4) says:

    Hello, Matt !
    I choose artical 3. War reporters are always endangerd their life. We can’t know how many lives are lost by indiscriminate killing. I have heard the news about the death of Japanese war reporters few times. In spite of this situation, war reporters fullfilling their duty and tell us what happens in the world. Readiness is neccesary to do this job. I think we can know about war reporters’ anguish and thought on their own job in next class. We haven’t a chance to think about war reporters,so it will be a good opportunity.

  10. Yu Kobashi(T4) says:

    Hi, Matt.
    I chose No.1.
    I think names of citis of South Australia have interesting words as you can see in the picture above .For example, “Port Augusta ” has “August ” in the name.
    So I think this name is related to August.
    This city may be made in August? Although I don’t know…..
    But anyway we might read some articles about how those cities were made and what is the cause of the name of city.
    I think we can learn not only those interesting names, but also the history of South America at the same time .
    I’m interested in this topic because I’ve been to Australia once and I learned the beauty of Australia. So I expect that this article gives me a new information of Australia.
    Thank you.
    See you next week!

  11. Yuki Yokomizo says:

    Hi, Matt ! Long time no see !!!!! I’m Yuki. How was your summer vacation? I visited Canada in August. It was so fun. I’m HAPPY to take your class in the fall semester too^^
    Of 4 topics I’m interested the most in 2: “Lost Youth: Middle East Urban Affairs.” Actually, I have no idea, so I’ll guess. My image toward people in Middle East is that they are so rich especially in urban areas and the area of that has plenty of fossils such as oil. Limited people maybe keep natural resources to themselves. And many people from abroad is gathering here on business. So, I think for ordinary people it becomes difficult to have a job in urban area. Younger people may tend to go out to foreign countries for the purpose of finding jobs. Or in rich family parents will encourage their children to enter better university or something, so they may often study abroad. But they might not want to come back to their home countries. That’s why Middle East lost youth, I think. Thank you.

  12. Tomoka Mori says:

    Hi,Matt! I’m Tomoka.
    I’m grad to meet you in this class. Many friends recommend your class , because you’re very kind, and we could improve English ability through your teaching. So I decided to take your class.
    In these articles, I am most interested in the number 4, “War reporters “. This title reminds me of the story I read at the reading class in China. The story is as follows, a African photographer, his name is Kevin Cater, after winning a Pulitzer Prize ,he killed himself.
    When I read this story , I immediately understood his stress which he had faced . Duty of the war reporters is providing people with correct information, and at the same time, as a photographer, he must take a picture. However, some people criticize him,”Why did you not immediately help the person who is in front of you?” So,I think this criticism from society killed him.
    This shocking article impressed me deeply.

  13. Aiko Narasaki says:

    Hi!
    I choose title article 4 “War Reporters”.
    When I heard it, I think of a Japanese journalist who was killed in Aleppo in 2012. She died at 45 years old.
    I respect her courage to be in such a dangerous place, and her will to tell us the situation in Syria.

    I think in the next class, we will get some infomation about those who in some dangerous place and trying to cover the situation. Or, also I think the situation can be the refugee crisis, especially in Germany.

  14. Chikako Tsuge (T4) says:

    Hello, I would like to choose article 4, “Book Truck: Tokyo.”
    Actually I have no idea what it is like, but I like books so I’ll guess. It is may be about trucks which carry books in Tokyo to deliver them to people. And not only delivering, probably they also read books for children for example in kindergartens. I think this service is good because we have opportunities to talk with the booksellers about books, which we rarely do in bookstores. Sometimes we have no idea which book to read, so talking to them might help us, and also we can get interesting information about books.

  15. Keishu Joi (T4) says:

    Hi Matt. I hope your summer was good and i glad to see you.

    I chose the article 3 ” War Reporter”.
    I did not know such a word when I was a child, but thesedays in Japan, as you know it, this word is “hot”.
    Two war reporters falled into ISIS and probably were killed by them. This is so cruel fact for Japanese, but I wonder why they went to such dangerous areas. On TV, the news said one of them is really sincere man and had done his best for poor children. But I think that is not realted to going into war areas.
    Didn’t he know the journey may cause trouble in diplomatic relations.

    I do not reproach them, but they are possibly selfish reporters.

  16. Atsushi Igarashi(T4) says:

    I think that article number 3 will tell us what actually “War Repoer” is. Although I have heard of that name , I did not notice until now that I knew almost nothing about it. Therefore I’m guessing that the articles will talk about the importance of the job and how they actually try to seek inside the battle to report the situation. I think War Reporter is often in danger.So the article might reffer to the danger of the job, too.

  17. Ayaka Kishino(T4) says:

    Hi,Matt.How was your summer??
    I visited Bali,Indonesia and taught Japanese to children in an orphanage.
    The children was so cute and kind:)
    They were so grad to get the textbook of Japanase which we had made for them.

    I choose no.4. I think book truck means a special truck full of books.
    It’s something like a library which can move to everywhere.I heard about a traveling library which came to Fukushima after 3.11.
    Like children I met in Bali,children like to read books and hear stories all over the world,but there are many areas where children have less chance to read books.
    It is hard to make new library,then someone in Tokyo made the book truck with contributed books and drive around to areas hit by natural disasters or other countries in need regularly,I guess.

  18. reina inoue T4 says:

    I chose the article 3, war reporters.
    I think we will read about reporters who report in dangerouse place. They want everyone to know starving poor people so they do not care about their safty. The article will tell us what they are thinkng when they are in danguer and what for they do such a dangerouse things….
    I heard the story about war reporters and isis. I cannot understand why they want to go dangerouse palces. Of course they have their famiries, lovers children. If they would die, those people become sad… Many war reporters said “i want to tell this all over the world”. Does everyone really do not know those things? I wonder…

  19. Natsumi Mizumura (T4) says:

    HiMatt!! How was your summer vacation? For me, it was too long, but I was able to enjoy spending time.

    Anyway, I choose the third article title “War Reporters”.
    Because it is interesting word for me. I’m majoring Urdu, and it is spoken in north India and Pakistan. As you know, there are a lot of terrorism in these country. So I’m interested in words like “war”.
    I don’t know details about war reporters, but I know they are always in dangerous area for them, not having weapon, and some of them dye until they are working. So, I guess the third article is introducing some war reporters how they work and why they work.

  20. Kenji (T4) says:

    Hi, Matt.
    I’m really glad to see you again!

    From the title “War Reporters”, I guess that is a kind of journalist who covers stories firsthand from a war zone. Without them we can’t get information about the most conflict-ridden parts of the world. They attempt to get close to enough to provide article with photos and film. Thus, reporting a war is often considered the most dangerous form of journalism. So I respect their works.
    By the way, I heard their median salary is $35,600 annually. This is be ungenerously compensated for their risk, isn’t this?
    Strong will must be stringently required for this absolutely necessary work for our thinking about the state of the world. I’m interested with the ambition which invite them to the most dangerous disputed area in the world.

    Best,
    Kenji

Leave a Reply

