Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Speed Reading

on June 9, 2015

We are going to practice speed reading in the next class. Please watch this VIDEO then, in the comments, tell us something you learned.

These vocabulary words will be important: to eliminate, to skip something, a block of words, comprehension

22 responses to “Speed Reading

  1. reina inoue T4 says:

    I was surprised by the fact that we pronounce the words even if we do not reads alound. When I was a junior hight school student, my English teacher said you have to know the pronounce of the word when you want to memorize it… Now I understand why she said so!
    And I learned NOT pronouncing the word while you read is important when you want to read fast. Peaople who can read fast do not recognize every word, but they understand the image of blocks of words. I think this technique is useful in Japanese or other languages…

  2. Emi Tanaka(T4) says:

    On this video, the speaker said that we can try to exercise the training of substituting each phrase for a simple word, for instance “a, e, i, o, u”, “1, 2, 3, 4” while reading fast.
    And imagining the scene of the sentence is also the key point of fast reading.
    I want to do these exercises in the next class because I always get nervous when reading sentences fast especially in the examination. But at the same time, I realize I need the concentration on the sentence.

  3. Yuka Hattori(T4) says:

    At first, he said that when we happen to some words, a signal is transferred from eyes to vocal cords and pronounce the words. Finally, the information is conveyed to a brain and we imagine the picture of what the words express. I have never heard that we pronounce a word before we recognize the word’s meaning. That really surprised me. After saying how we read, he told how to read sentences quickly. we read sentences saying “a e i o u” or “1 2 3 4 “. If we practice in that way, we become be able to read words fast and comprehend the words simultaneously. It is a comparatively easy way to practice reading quickly. I thought I can do everyday in my home. In addition, he said that we will be able to understand the sentences not by series of words but by pictures. If we can come up with a picture as soon as read a sentence, that makes us comprehend what the sentence means easily! In order to imagine a picture, we should practice many times.

  4. Aiko Narasaki (T4) says:

    I have heard about that when we are reading something we read it aloud in our brain, and this is why it takes time to read. Some years ago, I tried to reading something in Japanese fast and I think, I’m not bad at doing this. But in English, I can’t catch the meaning well without reading aloud.
    The man explained how to practice that. I was so interested in. He recommended us to say something (for example,1234) while we’re reading. This must be effective! I will try this method.

  5. T4 Yuki Yokomizo says:

    Hello! I’m Yuki.
    Ordinarily, when we understand the sentence, we read the word and transmit sound signals of the words from our throats to our brains. Our average words which we can read for a minute are 125 words ~ 250 words. But, by using his method we can read 500 words ~ 1000 words. If I read 250 words per one minute, I think it is fast enough. So, I’m suprised to know only by his very easy method we can read no less than 1000 words. That method is the way we replace the word with the simple word or alphabets. For example, A,E,I,O,U, A… or 1, 2,3,4,1… Also, it is important to imagine the picture of the situation. We have to understand the picture rather than the letters.
    Although I can accept the latter, I can’t believe the former because it is too much easy. But, I think it is value to try it. So, I will try!
    Thank you.

  6. Ayumi Nakahara(T4) says:

    I didn’t know that we pronounce a word while reading something. I became aware of the reason why teachers often point out our mistake about pronunciation. That means pronouncing properly is a basis of learning foreign language.
    The man suggested us two ways to fasten our reading speed. I think the second one has much effect of reading faster, because we understand something more than by picture than by sentence. I’m not sure the first one has effect on us, but this is easy to practice immediately.
    I cannot read fast, even a text is written in Japanese. This problem suffered me during studying for an entrance exmination, and maybe will suffer me until my death. Therefore, I want to do anything which helps me read faster than now!

  7. Hibiki Nishibori(T4) says:

    When I studied in order to pass entrance examination, my English teacher told to me that you should read each chunk and imagine the scene from a sentence if you want to read fast. So I knew this way to read fast. However I did not know we pronounce the words even if we read sentences silently. Because now I am busy to study Spanish and practice American Football, I don’t have enough time to study English especially pronunciation. But it is important to know pronunciation so I will try to have time to study English.

  8. Rika Morofuji(T4) says:

    In order to be able to read faster, there is one good practicing way the speaker suggests. Most people follow each word when they read something. But he recommends to read sentences with speaking loudly”1.2.3.4…1.2.3.4…”,then you can see passage as picture and get helpful information more effectively.

    I was surprised to know this way. I think it is a nice idea, and I would like to try it.

  9. Yu Kobashi(T4) says:

    I really enjoy that video . I learned that in order to read fast, it is important to imagine the picture of meaning of the word. It is very interesting because , people whose reading speed is fast read just letters so fast. But after I watch this video I understand how they read fast. And I was surprised that in his way of reading . we can read from 500 to 1000 words in a minute.Actually I’m not good at reading fast even if it’s Japanese.
    So this video was a very big help.for me . I want to practice what he is saying hard and be good at reading fast .

  10. Ichiyo Shimizu says:

    First, about how reading works. When we read something, we see the words and say them (even if we don’t say them aloud, it works), then recognize them. Secod, if we just see the words, not say them, we can read 500 to 1000 words per minute while the average is 125 to 250. In order to do this, all we have to do is voice simple sounds such as a,e,i,o,u or 1,2,3,4 while we’re reading. Although we can’t understand the whole of readings, by doing this over and over again, our comprehension level will go up.

  11. Chikako Tsuge(T4) says:

    The man in the video said, we tend to voice the word we read, or produce the word then we understand what it means or looks like. I understand it, I sometimes feel voicing the words which I read in my mind, but it takes too much time. And he said, saying something simple like a,e,i,o,u or 1,2,3,4 while reading will help us read faster, also it is important to get the whole image which the sentences mean. It was new information to me, and I think it takes me long time to get used to it, but it’s nice worth trying. Thank you.

  12. Minami Shimoura(T4) says:

    It is interesting that while reading English we should say something easy, for example “1234….” if we want to able to read English faster. I think it is difficult to say something different from the text you are reading, so I don’t think it is the best way to improve my reading abilities. But, I think it is effective to read English rhythmically to read faster, because we can memorize songs or poems faster than ordinary text.

  13. Ling(T4) says:

    Hi,matt,I’m coming.
    I watched the video right now.Although I can’t catch every words he said,I still gain some skills about speed reading,
    First,we should use our eyes to read but not our throat.Because when we read something,the first we use eyes to see it,and then use throat to read it.It’s obviously to see that we can read more quickly when we use eyes than throat.
    Second,we can let words be translated to a picture by our brain.Because if we make the words be a picture,we can get more happiness from the reading ,or will be more enjoy in reading.As you know,a picture is lively and vivid,but the words are a little boring,
    Third,just exercise to speed reading,the time will prove it true.Maybe you will say that if we just pay attention to speed,we can’t understand the article completely.It doesn’t matter.What I will tell you is that just practice,it need a process.At the beginning,maybe it’s difficult to you to comprehend the all words when you read fast,but when you practice more,you can make it be comprehended gradually.
    That’s all.By the way,I think the fish the man draw is so cute:-D

  14. Takuto Kase(T4) says:

    While listening to this lecture, I’ve heard that we tend to read aloud in my brain while reading silently. The lecturer says that this tendency causes our slow speed reading. I agree with this opinion because this tendency is very familiar to me. Then, I’ve heard the lecturer explain how to overcome it. He suggests that we say something simple like 1,2,3 and 4 while reading. It’s an interesting way, I think. So, in the next class, I want to try this.

  15. Keishu Joi (T4) says:

    To my surprise, we can read more than 500 words for a minute with the way he lectures. The exercise is to read texts with voicing while we are reading. The voicing should be simple words, such as ‘1’ ‘2’ ‘3’ ‘4’. Of cource, comprehension could be a promblem, but after we practice the way again and again, we will be able to improve our reading skills.

    I am really interested in this way, and I want to try it.
    Thank you.

  16. Akari Yamada (T4) says:

    I was very interested in this listening because I’m troubled about reading speed. In this recture he said we should voive a easy sound like “aeiou” or “12341234…” while we are reading. I was surprised about this idea because it looks very difficult. I always pronaunce the word in my mind when I’m reading but I have never tried to pronaunce the words which have no connection with the sentence. And he also recomend see the sentence as the picture. I think the 2nd one is easier to do than the 1st one so first of all, I want to try the 2nd way!

  17. Annie(T4) says:

    Hi, Matt! I’m Annie in T4.
    The video was great. At first, the speaker explained the reading process of average readers——see the word, pronounce the word, understand the word. (That’s exactly what I do.)Then he pointed out that if we can skip the process of pronouncing, our reading speed will be largely increased. Finally, he introduced a way to practice speed reading, which is to voice simple sound while reading each word. (I think this idea is quite unique. Perhaps I should have a try.)
    That’s all, thank you.

  18. Rio Sato(T4) says:

    I can learn that you should read sentences saying “a, e, i, o, u” or “1, 2, 3, 4”, if you want to read it quickly. When I listened to it at first, I thought I may concentrate not the contents of the passage but saying “a, e, …” . However the speaker makes sure that the way of reading makes us understand many information effectively!
    So I would like to practice in this way.
    These days I think I want to read sentences more quickly, so this video was really helpful for me! Thank you.

  19. Mika Osada(T4) says:

    I am bad at reading something speedy not only in English but also in Japanese and I really want to know how to improve the skill of speed reading so I am happy to hear the way of practicing.The speaker says that when we are reading something, we pronounce each word even if we do not speak aloud. Before I watched this video, I had known that fact because I always realize it. When I read somethong, I hear the sound of every word in my mind. I do not want to do so because I know this action is the cause of slow reading…However, I cannot stop to do so. Especially, when I take the examinations, I am troubled by the lack of time because it takes me long time to read passage in exam questions. I am going to use the technic taught in the video; when you read something, it is good to say “a-e-i-o-u” or”1-2-3-4-5″ because it helps us get the whole picture of the passage; we do not have to pronounce each word.

  20. keisuke koyama (Chankei) says:

    Hi,Matt!

    His way of thinking of reading faster is absolutely amazing, but I have already known a kind of idea like his idea. I have ever tried the idea a couple of times, and it surely allow me to read books faster than I read them in the normal way of reading.
    But it was also true that it took me a lot of times until I can be accustomed to it. ( Actually, I can’t be still accustomed to it.)

  21. Natsumi Mizumura (T4) says:

    I really surprised that we can read 500~1000words in a minute with his way. But I heard something similar idea which he explained. Several times, I tried the way, but it is a little difficult to do actually when I read. Because when I’m reading, I can’t stop pronounce words in my head.
    I’m looking forward to next class!
    Thank you.

  22. Ayaka Kishino(T4) says:

    As soon as I see this video, I recalled an idea that you remember something better when you try to memorize it with using your five senses, for example hearing music,speaking it out loud.
    I think this speaker’s advice is based on the similar idea. I had never heard such a way of reading,but I recognize the effect that the impact is important to comprehend something,so I would like to try it.

Leave a Reply

