Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Achievement Check 2

on January 30, 2015

punctuation

For the achievement check next week, you will have one listening component and one reading component. Look at the questions below and answer both of them in the comments.

1. The listening component is about vexillology. Look up that word and then tell us what you think we will hear about.

2. The reading component is an opinion article from a newspaper covering the topic of punctuation on the Internet. What do you expect to read about?

24 responses to “Achievement Check 2

  1. Tamako(T4) says:

    1. First I tried to look up the word in two dictionaries, but neither of them had this word. So I tried to search for this word on the internet, and found that it was a field of study researching history or usage of flags. I thought of what meanings flags may have, and predicted that we would hear about some subjects related to people’s identity. Often flags have their own meanings in their color, shape, or figures in them. It is true to both of flags of countries, and those of some community or institutions such as schools, NGOs, and religion groups. For example, Vietnam has a red colored flag with a big yellow star at the center. Here the red refers to the blood of the people, and yellow the color of their skin. And this flag has been used for indicating revolution and independence by the people themselves.

    2. On the Internet time runs much faster than in our real life. A piece of information is to be shared in one moment. So I think that to be punctual on the Internet means to be always updated on the new information.
    And we often require soon reply for a message sent on the Internet. We should check if we got any email or LINE so often, and in that sense, to try to be punctual on the Internet makes our life more sticking to the Internet.

    • Tamako(T4) says:

      (For No.2) I noticed I had misunderstanding the meaning of punctuation for punctual. For punctuation, I read a novelist writing that today there are less and less commas and periods as the Internet progresses. He said we were hurrying for something which was not so important, and lost time even for resting in a moment of one comma in a sentence. Well, we use much more pictures or marks like ^-^ insted of having comma or period. We even hesitate to use commas and think it is waste of the space. So maybe in the reading we might read about the reconsideration of the merit of having commas even in the Internet-society.

  2. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    1. According to an online dictionary, the word ” vexillology” is the study of embrems or flags of countries and nations. I expect to hear about the meanings of flags of some countries. In national flags, different colors and figures have different meanings or ideas and even the same color have multi meanings. For example, the color “red” have, in one way, the meaning of blood and in another way communism. I think we might hear about differences of meanings of national flags.

    2. I think we might read about usage of punctuation marks on the Internet. We are disciplined to use these punctuation marks when we study English. But some people skip punctuation marks( comma, period or colon) when they are writing on the Internet ( using keyboards). This might lead to misunderstanding or writings with no sense.

  3. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    Q1
    I found that vexillology is the study of summarizing the symbol of each country, region and human race systematically. I think we’ll listen to the discussion about how to distinguish between some areas and other areas. I’ve learned in one class that it’s hard to summarize the symbol focusing on one area because of the unclear borders in each level.

    Q2
    Punctuation means “,” and “.”, so I think the writer’s opinion is that the omnipotent internet even has the limits. Today many people do chatting, shopping and even going to school on the Internet and many people expect that the Internet will develop much more and enable us to do anything. But the Internet society must has something bad to us and there are something that Internet cannot help us such as the health. That can be the limits of the Internet.

  4. Akira Katagata says:

    Question1
    “vexillology” means studies about each country or region’s flags and embrems. The listenning in our next class will probably give us some flags or mebrems and explain how they were made and what meanings they have in detail. It also says about the relationship between countries and their flags.
    Question2
    “punctuation” means marks in sentences, for example a comma or a period. I think this reading says that we tend not to use “.” at the last of sentences on the Internet. These days, we Japanese usually use E-mail or “LINE” and send friends many short masseges in a day. Short massages sometimes have only 2 or 3 words and no “。”. There is also almost the same case between English users and this reading probabry utter that problem.

  5. Nanami Ozaki (T4) says:

    1. I looked up a dictionary and it said that vexillology means the study of flags. I expect that we will hear about a people who is specializing vexillology. I have never heard about vexillology so I can’t imagine the detail. In the listening, some exclusive names of the study will be used, I think.
    2. I think in the reading component, we will read the writer says there are a lot of wrong punctuation on the Internet. When I think carefully, I find some loss of adding period or comma in some sentences on the Internet. So I think we will read such things.

  6. Emi Enomoto says:

    1) I heard the translated Japanese word “kisyogaku” for the first time. I didn’t have any idea what they do in “vexillology”, so I looked up it in wikipedia. It told that it’s the study about flags and enbrems, but there’s no organization of vexillology. From this information, I thought that we would listen to a family history and the relation of the family and their flag.
    2) I’ve never paid attention to the punctuation on the internet, so it’s difficult to predict. I think that the reading might be an oppinion about how punctuations were used on the internet. Maybe the author will criticize the usage of it, and show better, and more smart way of using it.

  7. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    Question no.1
    According to wikipedia, vexillology is the scientific study of the history, symbolism and usage of flags or, by extension, any interest in flags in general. So, I think we will learn how flags were or are used in certain circumstances. For example, we might hear what color flags meant in a war or what combinations of flags tell messages in the sea.

    Question no.2
    I guess we will read about what features of using punctuations are there on the internet. When we write something on the internet, we often use punctuation in a different way from usually. For example, we use comma repeatedly to show feeling like hesitation. I think we will learn about difference of using punctuation on reports or books and on the internet.

  8. Mika Yamamori (T4) says:

    1) I found that “vexillology” is the word about the study of symbols such as flags of countries, regions, races and so on. I think we will hear about the details of one country’s flag, how the flag came into existence, and the meaning of the colors. So, we’ll also be able to learn history of the country.

    2) I think we will read about not only convenience of the Internet but also problems that can be caused by the Internet. For example, nowadays, even small children have a lot of opportunities to use the Internet, and troubles can happen to them. Also, the Internet can be an obstacle for children in case they have to study. So, I think we will read about how we should use the Internet in the next class.

  9. Shizuka Abe (T4) says:

    1. The word “vexillology” is unfamiliar with me. According to the dictionary on the Internet, “vexillology” is study of flag and crest which simbolize nation, region and ethic.
    I think we’ll hear about what’s vexillology and how it be studied and be used.
    2. In recentry, we especially young ages like us send very short message by Twitter, LINE and so on. If we send a little long e-mail, we take cere of punction, however, many of us don’ t care about that when we send short message.
    In the article, I think we’ ll read about hoe young ages can’t use punction correctly on the Internet, and how they use it. Moreover, how they make mistake when they have to write long and fomal text.

  10. Tanaka Kotaro(T4) says:

    Q1 I think we will know what is vexillology. According to the dictionary, vexillology is study using flags, symbolism,and so on. Many of us, I think, are unfamiliar to it so we could know something new.
    Q2 I think this topic is about reading and writing skill of user of the Internet. In the Internet, we don’t have to write sentence in
    correct grammar. I think this author wants to talk about mistakes of sentence in the Internet.

  11. Tao Ichino says:

    Q1,According to the Internet, vexillology is to study history by invesgating flags or symbols. So tomorrow, we will hear a program that is about Royals. Because flags and crests of Royals are full of history.
    In a book I read when I was young, professional historians can know what history is hidden in them. Maybe they are professionals of vexillology.

    Q2, When I use Twitter in English, I often see tweets in which any punctuations aren’t used. When I come across such tweets, I take pain to punctuate. It is very hard to understand what no-punctuation tweets mean for me.
    But similar phenomenon can be seen in Japan Twitter. Sometimes I see tweets in which also no punctuation is used. I’m a professional of Japanese, so it is easy to understand them but they look very strange for me.
    I can understand why such tweets hard to read are born everyday. When we comment on the Internet, we want to comment as early as possible. And we tend to think that we can understand messages even if they don’t have punctuations. Probably it is a reason we forget to punctuate sentences. However, such comments tend to be long and hard to read. Of course it is very likely we pervert them.
    I think some people get antsy over this phenomenon. So what we read next Achivement Check is to criticize this, tell us the importance of punctuations and encourage us to use punctuations.

  12. Natsuko Nishida says:

    Question.1
    I think we wil hear the historical story that many people studied and considered about very very complex problems and the present questions that human still have not solved. There were many geniuses in the old days and there are aiso many genius in thesedays. They sloved some very difficalt questiones.But, although they were special genius and todays scientific technique is wonderful , in the world there are a lot of mysterys.
    Question.2
    I think that we wil read the idea that the way to use punctuation marks on the Internet is diffrent from the way in the letter or newspapers and so on. By useing Punctuation marks accurately , you read a text easily. But when them are not used correctly, you are sometimes confused. For exsample, you may are tired to read sentences that have too many punctuation marks ,or too little puncation marks make sentence complex. Maybe on the internet, puncuation marks sometimes are not used correctly.

  13. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    Q.1
    I did’t know the meaning of “vexillology”,so I refer to the Internet.According to the Internet dictionary, vexillology is the study of flags. The word “Vexillology” is composed of two parts,”vexillum”(it comes from Latin word ‘flag’ ) and -logy(it means the word related to study).
    I think we will hear the meanings which flags have and its example.
    Some flag are reflected national history.For example,the national flag of the Republic of France (Tricolore) is composed of three colors,and each color has meaning .As you know, the national flag of France has three colors,blue, white and red.White is the color of French royal and red and blue are the colors of crest of Paris.
    I think flags are used to unify people,therefore vexillogy helps us to understend the background of nations and history.
    Q.2
    Punctuation is the marks used in writing that devide phrases and sentence and the way to use them.
    I sometimes have difficulty in understanding sentence which punctuation is not used rightly.It helps us to read sentence smoothly and quickly and plays an important role.
    I think we will read concerning the role of punctuation in sentence.

  14. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    1. Vexillology means “studies of flags and symbols related to nations and races”.
    I guess we will hear about conflicts of some countries’ national flags. National flags represents
    the countries’ belief or view on religions. So I think we will hear the histories of vexillogy and
    how the flags and symbols designed.
    2. I think we will read about special usages of punctuation on the Internet. To shorten the
    sentences, we sometimes reduce the puncuations and write only the main points of the
    message. At that time, the rules of grammar is disregarded. So that the readings might be
    about the problems of grammars used on the Internet.

  15. Mayu Morimoto (T4) says:

    1) I looked up the word “vexillology” on the Internet. It says that “vexillology” means the study of flags. At first, I could not understand what the study of flags is, but at last I found out that it may be about national flags. I heard national flags have their own meaning so I expect to hear some of the meaning of them in the next class.

    2) According to my dictionary, the word “punctuation” means some marks such as comma or period. I guess, in the article, I will read current usage of punctuation on the Internet. I often see people writing sentences without using apostrophe. For example, some write “don’t” as “dont”. These days, as technology develops, young people can send messages easily. I think people start ignoring punctuation for writing speed. For listening, I think I will hear something like that such as why and how we develop the usage of punctuation on the Internet.

  16. Suzuki Kana(T4) says:

    1. I looked up this word in the Internet and found that vexillology is the scientific study of the history, symbolism and usage of flags or, by extension, any interest inflags in general. So I guess
    we will hear about a story about the national flag of a country, for example a history or an episode.

    2. Punctuation is marks of comma and period or to put such marks in sentenses. I think we will hear about that we should pay attention to puctuation on the Internet to convey or receive correct information when we read or write texts.

  17. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    Q1)According to the Internet, vexillology means the research on flags and any kinds of symbol. I have no information about what the study means and covers but I guess it might cover how or why the symbol was made and the meanings of colors, shapes and other designs of the symbol. In the next class, I think especially we might hear about national flags.

    Q2)According to the Internet, punctuation means the marks used to clarify meaning by indicating separation of words into sentences and phrases. In other words, this word means comma and period. I think in the next class, we will read about the state of how punctuation marks was used now on the Internet and how we should use punctuation marks.

  18. Shota Nihi(T4) says:

    Q1
    “Vexillology” means studies about flags and embrems related to countries and cultures. I think we will hear the explanation of the symbols of frags, for example, the meaning of colors, animals, pictures, figures in flags.

    Q2
    Punctuation means the marks cuch as “,” or “.” used in the sentences. And I think we will hear about usage of these msrks in the Internet. Thesedays, many people write and read articles on the Internet , and how to use these marks is changing. We may hear young people’s ways of writing the sentences.

  19. Wataru Kaneto(T4) says:

    1.Judging from the meaning of “vexillology”, we’ll hear and think about suggestive ideologies of some countries or ethnic groups in terms of their flags.
    National flag is not only the symbol of each countrie, but also the massage to its nation and the world. It’ll be interesting to know what national flags suggest.

    2.I guess we’ll read about how people use punctuation on the internet. On the Internet I sometimes see strangely and extremely long sentences in English. To read them carefully, I find no punctuation mark put in the texts. I don’t know why they write in that way, but it’s so annoying to me, as a non-native English speaker. So I am interested in what we’ll read. But please one WITH correct punctuation marks!

  20. Akane Okumura says:

    1. Vexillology means researches of a national flag, and I think we will hear about if there is some relationship between national flags and what the nation have, for example, people, climate and history.
    2. I think people often do not use punctuations on the Internet, and this trend is not good because it seems that an order of language is breaking. The way people once adopt and use for a long time may change a good old thing.

  21. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    1. According to the online dictionary, vexillology is the study of flags and crests as a symbol. I think that we will hear some particular regions’ history or society from the point of this study.
    2. I looked up the word “punctuation” but I could hardly understand. My expectation is about some problems which occurs on the Internet because of punctuation.

  22. Ayaka Sakuma(T4) says:

    1. According to one site on the Internet, “vexillology” means study about flags as symbols of country, region, or nation. I know flags sometimes represent something by its color or shape. For example, the flag of USA shows the number of state by stars. On the other hand, the flag of China shows the rank of people by stars. I think we will hear about the means of color or shapes of flags.

    2. I don’t care about punctuation when I use the Internet, but some of my friends regard it very important. They think punctuation express the feeling. If we take wrong punctuation, we could cause misunderstanding. I will read about how to use punctuation on the Internet.

  23. Shintaro Murakami(T4) says:

    Q1
    Vexillology is the study about national flags or some kinds of symbles so I think we will hear a story about what the symble or flag means.

    Q2
    I think nowadays there are many risks in the Internet World . And writer will tell us how to get along with the Internet. We stop reading if we have punctuation. Like that the writer tell us where to stop and think about the risk which the Internet has.

Leave a Reply

