Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Listening: Caffeine boosts long-term memory

on January 21, 2015

devil mug

In the next class we will practice our listening skills using an episode from a radio program called “Science World”. For homework, please watch this 2-minute VIDEO about the university research done on caffeine, then answer BOTH questions below:

1) What did you learn from the video?

2) Do you regularly ingest caffeine? If not, why not? If yes, how much and how does it affect you?

These vocabulary words will be important in the next class: to boost, a placebo, caffeine, caffeinated, a caffeine tablet, to ingest, long-term memory

24 responses to “Listening: Caffeine boosts long-term memory

  1. Tao Ichino says:

    Q1
    The study shows that taking a cup of coffee (200mg) improves your memory consolidation. This is because caffeine makes you memorize. So tea also helps you memorize and you can expect effects by taking another caffeine drinks.

    Q2
    Yes, everyday I ingest caffeine because I love green tea. Green tea has as much caffeine as coffee. I drink 3~4 cups of green tea a day. However, I can’t feel that caffeine helps me memorize. For me, green tea is Crystal Geyser for people.

  2. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    1)The caffeine enhances our memories and cognitions, especially judgeing similar items. It would help us memorizing things in detail. Generally speaking, caffeine makes us awake, but it also affects our long term memory. I didn’t know caffeine continues affecting after 24 hours. Perhaps we will be able to keep much information in our memories when we want to, like before examinations, by using this point.

    2) I drink a cup of coffee almost every morning. Actually, I think it didn’t affect me on the view of memory so much. In my opinion, there is no difference of my memory whether I drink it or not. Although, I still have a habit of drinking it every day.

  3. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    Question 1
    I learned that caffeine really boosts memory consolidation and this makes our memory much stronger. And also the professor said 200ml is the best amount to drink coffee each time.

    Question 2
    No, I don’t drink coffee regularly. Because I drink coffee just when I feel like drinking it.

  4. Mayu Morimoto (T4) says:

    1)
    In the video, the speaker says that study shows caffein enhance memory consolidation. And the best amount for boosting memory consolidation is a strong cup of coffee around 200mg.

    2)
    I like to drink coffee, but not drink everyday. This is because taking too much caffeine sometimes causes me headache. But in my case, when I take caffeine, I feel I can awake longer than usual. And also, sometimes I can concentrate more when I take caffeine.

  5. Tamako(T4) says:

    1) For the first time I heard about a good effect of caffeine in a long term. It is always said that caffeine is effective in making us wide awake, only for that moment or at best for one night. But we seldom hear about such idea that caffeine affects the area of memory, and besides, not only for short-term, unlike we might imagine.

    2) I usually try not to take much caffeine for a couple of reasons. One is health problems: caffeine is said to be not good for some kind of hormones in our body related to our mental conditions. And really, I sometimes tend to be easily irritated after taking plenty of coffee.
    Another is that although caffeine is said to be effective to make us awake, scientists say the effect is only for short-time.Caffeine, actually, leads us prone to be sleepy 30 minutes or more after taken. After I heard that I don’t bother myself to take caffeine to awake myself.

    But thinking of the effect of caffeine from new points such as this research, we might be able to use caffeine well to make our life more enriched. It is worth trying, maybe. I will try from a little bit, not to go too much.

  6. Mika Yamamori (T4) says:

    1) I learned the study which was researched by a team of Johns Hopkins University researchers showed that caffeine boosted memory consolidation. Also, it is important for us to ingest the best amount of caffeine to enhance memory.

    2) I don’t ingest caffeine regularly because I drink energy drinks when I try to keep awake. But after watching the video, I came to think that sometimes it might be good to drink coffee.

  7. Wataru Kaneto(T4) says:

    1) According to the professor in the video, caffeine will enhance the function of our memory, and the best dose of caffeine to make the most of the effect is around 200 ml. Above that, it can cause side effects. On the other hand, below that, it affects little.

    2) Yes, I regularly have a cup of tea and coffee. After every dinner I drink a cup of green tea, and a cup of coffee every weekend. As it’s just routine of my family, I’ve never thought about how much or how the intake affects. But to think now, possibly I cannot get sleep well when I drink a bit too much.
    I will care more about the effects of caffeine from today on.

  8. Natsuko Nishida says:

    Question.1
    The video tells us that people who took in cafferine 24 hours before have better attantion of the information they talked about the day before. That is, memory works well because of cafferine.
    Question.2
    Yes, maybe I drink seven or eight cups of coffee ,tea or gleen tea in a week. A cup of coffee before the first period make me wake. When I don’t drink a cup of coffee before the first period ,I certainly sleep in the first period or second period. And I relax by drinkng coffee or tea. ( But I don’t know whethe this reason is I like coffee or tea ,or I ingest caffeine…)

  9. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    1) The caffeine boosts memory consolidation and enhance memory.
    We can have better attention of the information by taking the caffeine. The best amount to enhance memory is around 200mg.

    2) I have a cup of tea every day. I have drunk it since I was around 10, so it doesn’t affect me now.

  10. Shizuka(T4) says:

    1) I learnt that according to the experiment, the study showed caffeine boosts memory consolidation. Speaker said memory consolidation is a process of taking memory and strength more. Also the video said adequate amount of caffeine that we ingest is 200mg.
    Speaker said he is interested in brain mechanism behind this phenomenon, and it’s behavior study. However, these following questions are still unknown: “How dose it happen?” “How does it work?” and “How can we enhance more?”

    2) I don’t regularly ingest caffeine. I like coffee and tea which contain caffeine. If I can, I want to drink everyday because coffee make wake me up and tea make me relax.
    However, I don’t drink everyday if I want to drink, because I consider my health condition when I ingest caffeine. When a period that I can ingest caffeine, I frequently drink coffee or tea, and when a period that I don’t suggest ingesting caffeine, I usually endure drinking which contain caffeine.

  11. Ayaka Sakuma(T4) says:

    Q1.
    I learned that caffeine helps us memorize more effectively because it boosts our memory consolidation. 1 strong cup of coffee is the right amount of caffeine to enhance memory.

    Q2.
    I love coffee very much, but I don’t drink it regularly. That is because I sometimes feel sick when I drink too much coffee.

  12. tanaka kotaro(T4) says:

    Q1 I learn “caffeine boosts memory consolidation”. Caffeine helps us similar things memorizing.
    Q2 I don’t ingest caffeine everyday because I don’t like coffee, it’s too bitter. I know caffeine makes us awake, so there are people who drink coffee when they have to do homework, study, and so on. But I think we should sleep when we are sleepy. I don’t need caffeine’s power, so I don’t drink coffee to ingest caffeine.

  13. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    Q.1. From this video I can learn the influence of caffeine on the brain. It boosts memory consolidation and enhances our memory. 200mg of caffaine is best amount for best memory. There is still a question of ” How caffaine improve our memory?”

    Q.2. I don’t usually drink coffee, but I sometimes feel like drinking it when it is cold and I find a cafe in streets.
    I love drinking cocoa. When I was a high school student, I used to drink cocoa every morning.
    Sometimes I drink tea from Turkey.
    They help me being awake and concentrating on my study, but what helps me is mainly their hotness and sugar. I don’t know if caffaine in these drinks really affect me.

  14. Akira Katagata(T4) says:

    question 1
    Caffeine enhences our ability about memory. According to the resarch, some who drank coffee the day before could get better results than others who didn’t drink when people did the memory test. Drinking 200ml coffee is best.
    Question 2
    I don’t ingest caffeine usually because I didn’t believe that it has some good effect for me. For example, it is said that caffeine keeps us wake up, but I can sleep just after drinking coffee !

  15. Shota Nihi(T4) says:

    Q1
    From this video, I learnt caffein has something to improve our memory. I have never heard such
    an information so I was so surprised. But It is said that drinking too much cofee and taking too much caffeine are not healthy for our body. It is important to know the ideal balance between them.

    Q2
    I often drunk cofee at night to wake up my brain to study when I was a highschool student, without knowing that caffeine had such a special effect.

  16. Suzuki Kana(T4) says:

    Q1.
    In the video, the speaker tells us the effect of caffeine. We can improve our memories and consolidate memory by ingesting coffeine. The most effective amount is around 200mg.

    Q2.
    I regularly ingest coffeine because I drink some green tea everyday. However, I have drunk it for long time and green tea doesn’t contain coffeine so much so that I have not felt coffeine’s effect. In the other hand, when I am so tired that drink some energy drink which contains much coffeine I am waken up and more concentrate on tasks.

  17. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    Question No.1
    I learned that caffeine boosts our memory ability.
    200mg is the best amount to effect our brain.

    Question No.2
    I don’t ingest coffee regularly but sometimes.
    Coffee keeps me awaken so I regularly had ingested when I was high school student.
    Also coffee makes me calm and relax.
    With muzic (particularly jazz) ,it is better.

  18. Akane Okumura says:

    1) I learned that caffeine enhances memory. If we take 1 strong cup of coffee, we can take an advantage of caffeine, but if we drink more, caffeine cause side effects, for example, a headache.

    2)Yes, I do. I drink one or two cups of tea every day. I don’t think it affects me so much because I have taken caffeine since I was a junior high school student, and my body is tolerant to caffeine. But I sometimes suffer from a diuretic effect.

  19. Emi Enomoto says:

    1) I learned a few points from this video. Experiment showed that when we drink a cup of coffee, our memory improve and we can have a good performance in studying. And I also learned coffee and also tea have much caffeine.
    2) I don’t usualy have caffeine, because I think it makes me awake and prevent me sleep well. But after waching this video, I came to think that it is good for our memory, so I would like to have it more.

  20. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    1. Jonh Hopkins University researchers found out that caffeine help improve our memory or cognition. And they are now interested in brain mechanisms behind this phenomenon. Their next questions are how does it happen/work and how can we enhance even more.
    2. I don’t ingest caffeine because I dislike coffee and don’t make it a rule to drink. I also dislike the taste of tablets that contain caffeine.

  21. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    1) I learned that having caffeine can help our memory consolidation. It is important to take appropriate amount of caffeine to get the best effect.

    2) I have a cup of coffee almost every morning, so I think I regulary ingest caffeine. By having caffeine, I feel refleshed and completely waken. When I take coffee during studying, I can concentrate on my study. I think caffeine makes my brain relaxed.

  22. Shintaro Murakami(T4) says:

    1) The professor said caffeine enhances people’s memory and 200 mg for a cup of coffee is right amount to ingest.

    2) I sometimes ingest caffeine . I like drinking coffee or cafe latte . Probably three times a week or so. I don’t think it actually have affect to my memory or my body but I think it mentally support my concentration on activities like doing homework or reading a book.

  23. Nanami Ozaki (T4) says:

    1) I learned from this video that caffeine enhances our ability to memorize.
    2) Yes. I regularly ingest caffeine. I drink coffee twice or third times a week. When I was a high school student, I drank coffee everyday. Each day I drank 2 or 3 cups. I think when I drink coffee, I am really be able to concentrate on studying. And I usually drink it when I have to stay awake.

  24. Kentaro Ando says:

    1
    Professor said that caffeine boosts memory consolidation and enhances our memories. And 200mg coffee is suitable for our body.
    2
    I don’t ingest caffeine regularly. Because caffeine awakes us and prevent us from sleeping well. Therefore, I am not well sleeper, so I don’t want to take caffeine.

Leave a Reply

