Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Reading Dangerously

on January 14, 2015

Some governments, schools, and parents try to prevent children and young adults from reading books that are “dangerous” or not “age appropriate” (for example: books about sex, war, drugs, rebellion, anti-religious, etc). Others argue that these “dangerous” books are often good for teaching them about adult issues, challenging their views, and making them more empathetic to different types of people. Besides, “dangerous” books can be more fun to read and, if so, will get people interested in reading even more.

Please answer ONE of the following questions in the comments:

1) What book helped to change your life, thinking, or opinion?

2) What is your opinion about allowing students to read “dangerous” books?

These vocabulary words will be important: to skew, a poll, to be risky, a psyche

23 responses to “Reading Dangerously

  1. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    I answer the question 2.
    In my opinion, students should read many kinds of books even if they are “dangerous”, because those are chances for them to get right sences of judging what is good and what is bad.
    Of course , some harmful books which includes extremely grotesque or sexual expressions need to be avoided, but children can’t distinguish safe and dangerous ones if they weren’t given any information.
    So parents and teachers shouldn’t prevent children from getting oppotunity of gaining important information for their lives by concealing everything.

  2. Natsuko Nishida says:

    I choose the question No.2:What is your opinion about allowing students to read “dangerous” books?
    I think that students shold be allowed to read any kinds of books. I don’t think “dangerous” book can make “dangerous” students .In a bookstore or a library. there are a lot of wonderful and moving books. But in the world, not all students are wonderful. Some of them start some trouble even if they don’t read “dangerous” books.
    In addition, “dangerous” books sometimes tell students some important things. They tell what drug is or what war is. Students know how dangerous drug is by reading “dangerous” books.

  3. Mayu Morimoto (T4) says:

    I will answer the question 2: What is your opinion about allowing students to read “dangerous” books?
    I think students should be allowed to choose what they like. Some adults say that children can be influenced by “dangerous” books. But I think most children can understand what is good and what is wrong, though books have improper expressions.
    However, it is true that there are some very “dangerous” books which include too much improper expressions. Adults have to think more carefully in what point books should be banned for children.

  4. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    I will answer the question no.2 /What is your opinion about allowing students to read “dangerous” books?
    I think students should not be allowed to read “dangerous” books what they want to read.
    Students are not mature to judge what is right or wrong,reading such books.In their adolescence,students are more likely to be moved than adults, therefore if they got information they don’t want to know,they could not arange them in their mind by themselves.Students need help from adults when they are really in trouble.Not allowing students to read “dangerous” is not depriving students of the eager to learn but the responsibility to protect students from “danger”.It’s one of the things adults must do.

  5. Akane Okumura says:

    I choose question 2.
    I think it is good to allow students to read “dangerous” books because if they can’t read them, they don’t know what is dangerous and might want to do something dangerous.It is true that “dangerous” books sometimes affect students’ mind, but if they read those books, they are surely moved and feel something. Students should think by reading them.

  6. Tamako(T4) says:

    I answer the second one. In my opinion, student should not be allowed to read ‘dangerous’ books. In ‘dangerous’ books there is too much of serious or shocking information. For example, a book that describes the tragedy in war so sharply and ironically that we come home to the fear of war, is too much for the young who cannot catch the deepest meaning and receive only the most cruel scene. And also children tend to remember images having bog impact very sharply on their minds. I think it is not good for students in a long term. Often, the way of describing things in ‘dangerous’ books tend to be too excessive and violent. So we should be careful to allow students to read such kind of things.

  7. Ayaka Sakuma(T4) says:

    I will answer the question 1: What book helped to change your life, thinking, or opinion?
    The book that has changed my life is “THE HYDE”, which is written by hyde (a member of L’arc~en~Ciel) and it is about his life. In this book, he writes about conception of death, sex, god, or faith. I rarely read such books, so it it very interesting to me. My mother regarded it as ” a dangerous book” and she told me not to read, but it helped me widen my perspective.

  8. Wataru Kaneto(T4) says:

    I take the question 2.
    I think students should be allowed to read “dangerous” books itself. It’s true that kind of books can exert a bad influence on children or students, but can be of benefit to them. For example, those books give the idea of what is dangerous, immoral, and why it is. It stops them to do “dangerous” things.
    Even then, some people say “dangerous” books make students dangerous.However, that is not a big problem. What really matters is that adults see children don’t do wrong.
    I believe it is the best that adult and children think and talk about “dangerous” things together through “dangerous” books.

  9. Emi Enomoto says:

    I chose the second question. I think students can read ‘dangerous’ books only if they know it dangerous. If the context says such dangerous things, like drugs, are not bad or good, fun, asults have to tell students the truth: these things are bad, or a kind of issues. If the book tells these things are bad and dangerous, students can learn from the book. So, they need advices, and additional knowledge from adults, when they read dangerous books.

  10. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    I answer the 2nd questions.
    I think children cannot see the reality if so called “dangerous” books are banned. In Japan, some municipalities have decided to ban “Barefoot Gen”, which realistically describes scenes of atomic bomb victims, for children. In Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum, dolls of atomic bomb victims were done away with. The reason of these actions is that seeing realistic description of war is supposed to be bad for children. However, in this situation, children cannot learn about war and peace closely to the reality. I think adults should give children chances of being faced to the reality of war, if it is painful and dreadful.

  11. Akira Katagata(T4) says:

    I choose question 1.
    I think that reading books about war were very precious for me. In Japan,these days, many young people don’t know about war exactly because older people who experienced war died. As a result, some wrong people even say ”Go to war !” when some serious promblems occur between countries and there seems to be no way to solve that problem any more. In this situation, the only way for us to learn about war is to read books. In fact, through books, I could know how brutal war was and we should not go to war again.

  12. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    I answer question 2.
    I agree with allowing students to read “dangerous” books. Many people say letting them reading such a bad thing provide them with bad ideas and they would do something bad or illegal things. But I don’t think so. I have heard that almost all of the students who do bad things don’t know it is a bad thing which they do. We need an education against these bad thing for elementary school students because higher grade students won’t hear what you say, but today many teachers say that regular class such as Mathematics and English also needs more time to teach and it is hard to share times for extra class. So, instead of the class, the book can be a teacher. Reading “dangerous” books and getting prior knowledge will help students to be deprived from doing such a bad thing or avoid being involved some bad events.

  13. Mika Yamamori (T4) says:

    I chose the question 2.
    I think allowing students to read “dangerous” books is good if they are enough to old to know “dangerous” facts and “dangerous” opinions because they understand what is right and what is wrong. Also, I’m sure that they have their own opinions. If they are enough to old, reading “dangerous” books will enable them to have broad views. But, I think we should teach small children what is right and what is wrong first(for example, picking a lost article up and reporting it to the police is right, but stealing someone’s belongings is wrong).

  14. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    I answer the question 2.
    In my opinion, students should be allowed to read “dangerous” books. Students get match information from documents, but I think it depends on the person how to use the information and I don’t think dangerous books make students have dangerous mind.
    If there is no opportunity to study adult issues, on the contrary students can be dangerous because of their ignorances.
    So I think adults should allow students to read “dangerous” books.

  15. Tao Ichino says:

    I choose the question 1.
    “Neverending Story” plays an important role in my life.
    The main character of this story, Bastian is timid and weak. He can’t beat bullies at all.
    So he can’t be active but he wishes to be strong.
    His dream come true in the book he read, “Neverending Story”.
    In “Neverending Story” he succeeds and is worshiped by a lot of people.
    But getting strong makes him gradually arrogant. He gets easy to angry.
    Because of strength he get, he forget his kindness.
    However this is not what I want to say.
    I sympathized with him. Elementary school years, I was bullied.
    So I can understand Bastian and was surprised because Bastian’s thought was very similar to mine.
    This changes my opinion on books.
    There are writers who create characters who impress us.
    It makes me to love books

  16. Tanaka Kotaro(T4) says:

    I choose Question 2.
    Dangerous books aren’t only bad things. Because students can’t learn dangerous things if they don’t read these books. I think students should know dangerous things. There are too many dangerous things in the world, and we should solve many of them. So students also need to think and know. But I don’t think all teachers and adults can tell students right knowledge about dangerous things.

  17. Shota Nihi says:

    I choose the second question.
    It is important to read such dangerous books to widen the own world and know that there are so many kinds of ideas and thoughts in the world. But if too young people read it, it can be trauma and can make a bad effect on their life in the future. The most imortant thing is to understand when they can read them without bad effects.

  18. Nanami Ozaki (T4) says:

    I answer the question 2.
    I almost agree with allowing students to read “dangerous” books. Some adults think that “dangerous” books have big impacts on children who don’t have enough ability to judge things correctly yet and the children may cause any terrible accidents by reading them. But I don’t think all of students who read “dangerous” books will cause matters. Rather, adults’ action that take over such “dangerous” books from students have possibility to seize their opportunity to bring up their own richnesses of ideas. So I think adults should keep their eyes on their children and make sure that how much “dangerous” they should permit to children.

  19. Shintaro Murakami(T4) says:

    Q2.
    I totally agree with allowing students to read ”dangerous books” because knowing real of the world helps children
    have more awarenes to worldwide issues. Lack of the information leads people to a mistake. So I think knowing and understanding real of the world in early age is very important and it’s very effective to make better world.

  20. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    I will answer the question 2.
    I disagree with the idea that dangerous books have a bad influence on children and young adults. I don’t think their thoughts and characters can easily change only by just reading books. But if I had encountered the book whose idea extraordinarily attracted me, my answer would have been different.

  21. Shizuka Abe (T4) says:

    I answer question 2.
    I think it is correct to allow students to read “dangerous” books,but at the same time, I think it’s depend on what kind of “dangerous”.
    I think the book written about the event in the history or happened in real should allow students to read whether it’s dangerous or not.
    On the other hand, I think the book written only dangerous thing and not recommend reading, sometimes need age limit.

  22. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    I’ll answer 2nd question.
    I agree with allowing students to read “dangerous” books. Reading these books help young people to know what is common in adult’s world. Most of adult hesitate to talk about “dangerous” things like war and drugs, but some of them are necessary knowledges to live without being involved in troubles. If adults don’t tell students, young people should read those books and get knowledges. However, it is ture that those books have a big shock and these influence too much to children. I think children, who can’t judge what is right or bad should not be allowed to read “dangerous” books.

  23. Kentaro Ando says:

    I think allowing students to read dangerous books is not bad thing. Last year, in Japan a prefecture baned students from reading “Hadashi no gen”. It caused many problems. This story tells us how WW2 was serious. So we should allow them to read dangerous books.

Leave a Reply

