Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Listening Practice

on November 11, 2014

In the next class (November 18th) we will practice our listening skills. For homework, please watch this 5-minute video of Kellee Santiago explaining why and how game design is important to real life. This topic relates to what you will hear in class.

Before you listen to her presentation, think about what you know about video games. Then predict what you might hear. As you listen, compare what you hear with what you expected. Finally, after the listening, critically evaluate your listening skills as well as the information she provided. Look at the questions below, choose one, then answer it in the comments.

1. Did accessing your background information and predicting help you to understand the speech? If so, how? If not, why not?

2. As you listened and compared what she said with what you expected, did it help you understand the speech better? If so, how? If not, why not?

3. How well could you understand her speech? What kinds of things helped your comprehension and what might have hindered your understanding?

These vocabulary words will be important in the next class: alternate reality, gamers, epic, crowd-sourcing

23 responses to “Listening Practice

  1. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    I choose the question 2.
    Expecting the topic of what she said helped me understanding the speech.
    From the title of this speech, it can be predicted that game is a good thing for our lives. After predicting the topic, what I thought I have to do was skimming good aspects of games. Remembering this, I listened to the speech and it was very easy to skim good points of games.
    I could not understand all of the speech but I feel I was able to understand the important things.

  2. Tamako(T4) says:

    I chose Question 3.
    3. How well could you understand her speech? What kinds of things helped your comprehension and what might have hindered your understanding?

    At first, I was not sure what she aimed at, but the images and pictures she cited really helped me understand her idea. I think pictures are an important non-verval language which is relatively broadly shared by more people than verval languages.

  3. Mika Yamamori (T4) says:

    I chose the question 2.
    Comparing what she said with what I expected to hear was helpful for me because what I expected was a little bit different from what she said in the video. Of course a few things that she said was similar to what I expected, but she said many things about games that I did not expect to hear. I think why comparing what she said with what I expected to hear was useful for me is that they are different from each other and it enabled me to understand the difference.

  4. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    I choose question 1.
    My background experience didn’t help my understanding. I feel and think that playing many kind of games developed my skill such as thinking strategy, mathematical way of thinking, and grasping spatial graphic. Today many people say game isn’t good for education but I think game also can be connected to the thinking skill. If this video was about game connected brain skills, I would listen to it with joy and excite. But, she seemed to talk that all games have pattern and brain loves pattern and this makes people happy. I predicted she would talk about “content” of games but she talked about “concept” of games. That was little different to my background information.

  5. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    I answer Question 1.
    My background information was not enough to predict the contents of this video, because it was about how the game designers delight people. Before watching this video, I imagined about computer technology. I thought this can be connected to our daily lives easily.
    Although I understood the key word “flow” is important for guessing other people’s mind. I had an image of facing computers for the work of game designer, but this time I noticed they always try to entertin people.

  6. Natsuko Nishida(T4) says:

    I choose the question 2 .
    What I expected did not help me ,because what she said was very different from what I expected. I thought that the article would say the game sometimes influence well and sometimes badly for children real life and you must try to design good games . However, the speech was more interesting than what I expected. I think expecting is usually helpful ,but this time, I had to expect more interesting speech.

  7. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    I chose the question 3. I think what we expected befor watching this video could hinder our understanding and also help us understand it. Because we might listen to it believing that what we predict is correct against our will. It is preoccupation. What helped my comprehension is pictures and colors of words. I could understand the important thing if colors are defferent from others.

  8. Tanaka Kotaro(T4) says:

    I choose Q2.
    I predicted the component but it didn’t help my understanding because the speech was so different from my prediction. I didn’t think video game is for all ages. I only thought game is for children. So my prediction adversely let me suffer.

  9. Tanaka Kotaro(T4) says:

    I choose Q2.
    I predicted the component but it didn’t help my listening. As for me, video games are for children or lower ages. So I predicted this topic related education for children. But she thought video games have power to make all ages people happy. So in this listening my prediction adversely let me suffer.

  10. Akane Okumura says:

    I choose question 3.
    There was some points I could not understand. The pictures or figures projected next to Kellee puzzled me because I think some of them were not related directly to what she was saying so much.

  11. Tao Ichino says:

    I answer the question 3.
    I was interested in this video because I easily could image a good example.
    You will easily understand what Kellee wants to tell if you are a gamer.
    For example, The legend of Zelda, this is a wonderful game that has beautiful patterns.
    In the game, there are challenge, goal and feedback.
    Challenge is, of course, to challenge dungeon.
    Goal is to attain dungeon capture.
    Feedback is to be wise to work out a difficult puzzle.
    By playing The legend of Zelda, we can get wiser.
    Thus, by challenging, putting and attaining a goal and getting feedback (she calls it a pattern we love), we can get better. Game is a good example of this. So it is important to learn game-design.
    I think this is what she wants to tell us.

  12. Emi Enomoto(T4) says:

    I chose the second question. My prediction was that designing games helps us to be creative. I don’ have much imformation about video games because I rarely do it, so I only had minus image about them. But her image of video games compreatly different from mine, so my prediction didn’t helped me to understand her speech, but I got new idea about video games.

  13. Akira Katagata(T4) says:

    I chose No.3.
    I could’nt understand the content of her speech well. I think that I did not hear it properly because I did’nt try to guess what would come next. In other words, I heard it without making full use of my brain to help my listening skill. That’s why I could’nt understand her presentation.

  14. Mayu Morimoto(T4) says:

    I chose question No.3.
    I can understand some, but not all. Many pictures helped me to understand, but on the other hand, sometimes few explanations on the slides are not enough for me. What is more, the topic was not so related to me, so I had some difficulties to understand it.

  15. Wataru Kaneto(T4) says:

    I chose No.3.
    The first time I listened to her speech, I wasn’t able to catch it so much. Predicting or guessing before listening helped me a bit while it hindered my catching. When my prediction was right, it enabled me to accept the speech smoothly. On the other hand, when my guessing was beside the point or there were unexpected contents, rather it confused me.
    As I listened again, I was able to understand better because the information was ordered in my brain and the pictures about the speech going helped me.
    In listening, relaxing is important as well as predicting.

  16. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    I choose No.1.
    Accessing my background information and predicting helped in my listening to some extent because it made easier to understand.
    However, my background information is not always true, therefore it disturbs me to understand correctly.By accessing, I had have preconception.

  17. Shintaro Murakami(T4) says:

    I choose question3.
    At first I had no idea from the title “Why and how game is important to real life.”
    because I had thought game is just for fun. But in her speech she says people can be happy when they get a pattern and game creaters can make great patterns and affect the change in the world.
    I think I understand whole meaning of her speech.And I think it’s a very big scale story.

  18. Ayaka Sakuma(T4) says:

    I choose the question 3.
    In short, I couldn’t understand what she tried to tell us very much, because she didn’t talk about what I had expected to hear. Before listening, I thought her speech would be about the good effect to our brain. I have heard that playing games can change the ways to think, so I expected to hear about this. However, I found she was explaining the property of game design and how nice it is, so I was surprised and couldn’t follow her talking. When my prediction was wrong, I will feel uncomfortable, which prevents me from taking it easy.

  19. Shizuka Abe (T4) says:

    Actually, my background information and prediction didn’t help me to understand the speech, because I first think about “game”, I imaged only video game which I have negative image, so, I have no idea what’s the importance of the game design to real life. After seeing this video, now I understand that game is not only video game.

  20. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    I choose question 1.
    I think accessing my background information and predicting help my comprehension of this speech. Before listening, I thoght when I play a game. It helps me accepting this speech. However, I couldn’t understand some parts baecause I didn’t predict, and I couldn’t switch to accepting speaker’s opinion. I think if we have flexibility, prediction is useful for understanding.

  21. Shota Nihi says:

    I choose the 1st question.
    I didn’t know good things about video games at all, so I couldn’t predict video games might have important roles and designers were key persons. After listening this speech, I learn about new information about video games and get new ideas. I hope I can take advantage of them next time. And I must think what I should do if I don’t have any background about listening text.

  22. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    I will answer the question 2.
    I think predicting helped me to understand the speech. Of course a single word and a single phrase I expected did not altogether accord with those of her, but it helped me to grasp the rough flow of her speech more easily.

  23. Kentaro Ando says:

    I chose question 1.
    Prediction helped me some points. If we don’t predict what we will hear, we don’t know it at all. This means we can’t imagine the story. Prediction grows our imagination. In addition to this, if we know contents, beforehand we can check words we don’t know.

Leave a Reply

