Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Achievement Check 2

on June 17, 2014

On June 24th we have our second Achievement Check (and last class!). During the check we will listen to a radio program from the series called This American Life. This radio series tells true stories that are sometimes funny, sometimes sad, but always unique and interesting. The story we will listen to is about a woman named Sandra who finds out a very surprising and funny secret about her father.

The reading for the check is an article from the music magazine Spin. It is written by a 45-year-old reporter who goes to a Goth music festival.

In the comments, please answer ONE of the questions:

1) What do you think Sandra’s father’s secret might be?

2) What do you think the reporter will write about the Goth music festival?

26 responses to “Achievement Check 2

  1. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    I answer question 2.
    I think the reporter will write about the atmospher of the festival that there are many great bands playing their famous song and thousands of people came and enjoy the concert. I think the Goth music festival is similar to the Fugi rock festival which is one of the most famous music festivals in Japan. The artical would make the reader exciting.

    First, I thought like above. After writing it, I searched the festival on the internet, but I couldn’t find it. Then I looked the word ‘Goth’ on the dictionary, it said that Goth is the Goths which is the ethnic entered the Roman Empire in 3 century. So I also think the festival is the concert of goth’s music by its people and the reporter will introduce its culture to us in the artical.

  2. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    I think that Sandra’s father’s secret might be about his past. Before he had his daughter Sandra, he was a popular model and actor. He quit the job to dedicate himself to bringing up Sandra. Since he did not explain the reason to his fan or the mass media, they tried to find and question him. But he played,ate and sleep well with Sandra day after day, gradually making him hard to maintain his perfect body shape. So it was obvious that their effort was no use. Perhaps Sandra could never imagine his father with double chin walking on the stage as a model.

  3. Wataru Kaneto (T4) says:

    I thought about the question 1, Sandra’s father’s secret.

    Sandra is so fond of a famous music group, band or something like that. She wants to go to its concert with her father, but every time he can’t go. That’s because her father actually a member of the group! One day she notices the fact for some reasons. She’ll be surprised but prouder that her father is very famous and popular. If I were Sandra, I would think so.

  4. Risako Ohata says:

    I answer the question 1.
    First, I think Sandra is a popular writer.She likes writing family stories and often write them because she respects a man who is famous for a writer who is good at writing heartwarming family stories. She likes his works because his stories are exquisite and his love for his family is shown in his story, so she always feel happy to read his works. One day, however, she finds that the writer she respects is her father! I think she was surprised very much but the moment she knew it was the most heartwarming because she was able to understand her father’s love for family.

  5. Shota Nihi(T4) says:

    I answer the question 1.

    I think Sandra’s father (Father A) is not the real father.And he have a secret about Sandra’s real father (Father B).The real father is drunkman and he broke the family.Before Sandra was born,Father B had left his family.And I think this story would be more intersting if Father A were Father B’s brother.So,actually,Sandra’s father (Father A) is her uncle! And in the middle of this story,the drunk father (Father B)might appear in front of Sandra.I think this story is that Sandra finds out her real family.

  6. Tamako(T4) says:

    I will answer question 2.
    I wondered what the word ‘Goth’ mean, and consulted a dictionary. I found some interesting things. Goth refers to the Goth people, who we learned in the history subject in high school as “Eastern-Goth” and “Western-Goth”. At the same time, Goth also refers to ‘savage people’, from which we can guess how Goth people were regarded by other part of the world(maybe other Europe countries). It is also interesting that ‘Goth’ is the origin of ‘Gothic’.
    So I think that goth festival may be a traditional and fantastic festival of the Goth people. As described as ‘savage'(though it must be at least partly from bias) , their character might be rough and not too serious, so the festival may be very funny one!

  7. Ayaka Sakuma(T4) says:

    I will answer Question 1.
    First, from this blog we can know that the secret about Sandra’s father will be very surprising and funny, so I think this story is about his strange habit. Maybe he likes dancing with cute clothes for women! One day Sandra found him doing so and she was very surprised, but he has not noticed that she knows his secret and he behaves normally. Finally, she tries to tell him that she happened to see his strange habit…this is my predicting.

  8. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    I answer the question 1.
    I think the secret Sandra found might be that her father loves small and cute animals and he hides the photograph and stuffed toys.
    He usually behaves as if he was strict but actually in his own room or when he is alone and meets his friend in relate to that, he might amuse his lovely ones for example reads a book for them or talls with them…
    Although it is very very strange situation for normal people, for her it might be only a little funny situation. She is strange, too.

  9. Mayu Morimoto (T4) says:

    I will anser question 2.
    At first I do not know what the word “Goth” means, so I looked up it in a dictionary. I could find that “Goth” reflects one of the people from central Europe, in what is now Germany, who attacked and moved into the Roman Empire several times between 3rd and 5th centuries A.D.
    Considered to the definition of the word “Goth,” I think Goth music festival relates to this history. I mean that in tha festival, a lot of people will disguise as the Goths and praise the honorable history of Goths. I think this kind of events can be a good opportunities for everyone in the country to know their ancestor. So maybe the reporter try to introduce this event to people to let them know about the history and culture(of couse especially in music) of the Goths.

  10. Mika Yamamori (T4) says:

    I will answer question 1.
    I think that Sandra’s father’s secret is that he is actually a comedian who is really popular among Sandra’s friends. But her father keeps the truth that he is a comedian secret from Sandra. So, he is usually an ordinary father and manages a business, but he transforms himself into a funny comedian when he appears on the stage.
    One day, when Sandra talks with her friends about TV shows, one of her friends suggests that Sandra watch the funny TV show because one funny comedian comes to be popular. Although Sandra does not watch TV much, she tries watching the funny TV show. While she watches it, she recognizes the funny comedian because he somehow looks like her father. And Sandra tries to make sure that her father’s secret.
    I’m looking forward to the next class!

  11. Nanami Ozaki (T4) says:

    I will answer question 1. Sandra’s father went out by car on the sly every Saturday, so Sandra thought maybe her father have any secret. She wondered where he went, so she follwed him in secret oneday. At last, she found that her father went to a class of knitting! He knitted well cute knit hat, sweater, ornament…etc. She was surprised about that at first, but soon she felt funny because her serious father had a cute hobby.

  12. tufsmatt says:

    I love your predictions everybody! Very interesting! 😉

  13. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    I will answer question1.

    I think Sandra’s father’s secret is about his family. Actually Sandra has a twin sister. However Sandra was brought by their father and her twin sister was brought by their mother. She thought that she has no sister or brother and she has never met her mother. One day she met her twin at the college. At first she didn’t notice that the woman is her twin. Then they became friends and they know they have some common identity like their birthday and blood type. Their father concealed about it, beause that is a very painful memory for him. Finally they could get the parents together and they live happily ever after.

  14. Emi Enomoto says:

    I will answer the question 2. I think the reporter will write that the featival was amasing and a kind of exciting. Acording to the name of the festival, the music might be classical music. I think Goth stands for ”Gothic”, which means the style of the Middle Ages, so the wrier enjoyed beautiful classical music and write about it.

  15. Suzuki Kana(T4) says:

    I will answer the question 2.

    I wonderd what Goth music was and I searched on the Internet. Then I found that “Goth” is a shortened form of “Gothic” and that a music style of Gothic rock was formed during the late 1970s. The reporter is 45 years old; he or she was born in late 1960s or early 1970s. That’ why he/she is familiar with Goth music. When he/she went to the festival, he/she found something same or different from the former Goth music. He/she enjoyed the festival and reported the state of it and differences between the present goth music and the former one.

  16. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    I will answer the question 2.
    The first time I looked at a word “Goth”,I thought Goth is one of the music style.Then,I looked up “Goth” in a dictionary.According to the dictionary,Goth is a style of rock music that developed from punk music(popular in 1980s).Punk music was born by the youth in 1970s.It also relates to the ideas about the end of the world,death or devil and refers to the people who listen to it.
    I don’t know what “Goth” music is,but I think the writer introduce “Goth” music to us and
    how people enjoy Goth music today.

  17. Akira Katagata says:

    I will answer the question 1.
    I guess that Sandra’s father was a famous comedian before she was born. However he was mistakenly arrested with a suspicion of an assault and he was forced to retire. So, he didn’t want to say to his daughter about his past career.

  18. Akane Okumura says:

    I think Sandra’s father’s secret might be about his hobby. He always told his family that his hobby was something normal, but actually his hobby was dance with painting human’s face on his belly. He might find it fun when he was a child and he constantly does it with people who was also enchanted by the dance. He wanted to tell the truth to his family but he was ashamed.

  19. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    I answer the question#1.

    I think Sandra’s father’s secret is that he was a singer. One of the songs he had sung is Sandra’s favorite song. He hasn’t known that his daughter likes a song he had sang. One day he happens to see Sandra listening to his song. He was very surprised, but she was confused to see her father being surprised, because she doesn’t know that the song she is listening to was sung by her father.

  20. Natsuko Nishida says:

    I will answer the Question 1. Sandra thinks that her fateher is cook and works in a restaurant . However he is not actually good at cooking and dishes in the restaurant is cooked by another person .Why he pretends to be a cook is that before he marrys her mother, she liked dishes in the restaurant where now he “works” . When he did a part time job in the restaurant by chance ,she visited the restaurant many times. He loved her and he told a lie that he worked the restaurant as a cook in spite of hisself in order to be loved by her ! When Sandra knows this , she thinks that if her mother knows this , she is angry and hates her father.However her mother actually know the secret and loves her father although he is not cook in the restaurant.

  21. chihiro uchiyama says:

    I chose question number 2. As far as I know, goth music is sort of a punk-rock style music. Also, I have this dark kind of image towards it. It is probably poplular to some young people, it isn’t traditional family sort of music. I think this 45 year old man goes to the goth music festival without knowing much about goth music, having a negative impression, but as he listens to the music and feels the power the music has, he gets to understand their music. In the end, I think the article is written in a positive way and is wanting to get more and more people listen to the music.

  22. Shintaro Murakami(T4) says:

    (1) I think Sandra might find out her father’s diary . Her father has written his dairy experiences in the diary since he was a child. In the diary there are some funny or interesting stories . Sandra thought she found a new aspect of her father because her father is usually quiet and a person who doesn’t say much.

  23. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    I answer question 1.
    I think Sandra’s father’s is a writer, but his daughter don’t know about it. This is the secret. He uses his pen name when he write stories so daughter don’t notice it. Sandra likes to read a book and one of her favorite author is him. She might find out it by seeing a original paper or his writing a story.

    • Ayano sato (T4) says:

      I posted this comment by mistake.
      This is its following.

      She thoght her father was just working at an office everyday, so she was surprised when she find that her father is one of her favitite writer.
      This story might not be so funny, but very surprising.

  24. Kentaro Ando says:

    I answer question 2. I think the reporter will write about the atomosphire of the music festival, the performances of the bands and set lists of these bands. I think gothic music bands will perform at this music festival such as “Joy Division” or “The Horrors”. I have read Spin several times, so I am really looking forward to reading this article.

  25. Watanabe Akihiro (T4) says:

    I answer 2nd question.
    I think that the reporter write introduction about the Goth music festival, which is annual big event in America. She introduce about what she experience through the festival. I suppose that the festival is intersting to me.

Leave a Reply

