Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Speed Reading

on June 11, 2014

We are going to practice speed reading in the next class. Please watch this VIDEO then, in the comments, tell us something you learned.

These vocabulary words will be important: to eliminate, to skip something, a block of words, comprehension

25 responses to “Speed Reading

  1. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    I learned to watch a sentence as watching pictures, not just read a sentence, helps us to understand a sentence faster when we read any text.
    The instructor said using “1234,1234..” or “a i e o u, a i e o u..” is one way to do it. I think it is little bit hard for beginner, but I’ll try to improve my reading speed.

  2. Mayu Morimoto (T4) says:

    I learned that people cannot read fast because they read all words in a text. They should not read so closely if they want to try “speed reading. ”
    The man advised us to read texts with voicing simple words. It sounds interesting for me, but I found it a little bit difficult to do like that. Perhaps I should practice it continuously.

  3. chihiro uchiyama says:

    The mans way of speed reading was a new fresh idea to me. I learnt that reading each and every word isn’t really useful, that seeing the sentence just like a picture makes you understand more easily and quickly. I followed the mans advice and tried reading as he said and although it was hard in the first place, I think I got the skills now because while saying simple phrases like ”1,2,3,4”, the sentences meaning came into me more easily. If I continue this practice, I think it will make my reading faster.

  4. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    In this video, the speaker said that when we read sentences normally, we use a throat and eyes.
    I wasn’t conscious of using throat when I read something. Also he said that we should read sentences like watching pictures not read each words for faster reading. I noticed that I cared about difficult words and some details in sentences too much, and it can make the speed of reading slower. I will try this way of reading next time.

  5. Mika Yamamori (T4) says:

    I was really surprised at the way we should practice to read sentences speedily because the way was simpler than I had expected. The way is voicing simple sounds while you are reading. Although this is a simple way, I think it is a little bit hard for me to continue training myself in that way. But I will practice the way since I would like to get the ability to read faster.
    Moreover, it was impressive that we should see sentences as a picture, not as a series of words.

  6. Emi Enomoto(T4) says:

    What he told is unfamiliar but seems interesting. I learned that when we read a few sentences,we unconciously imagine the picture.In order to to that in very short time we should practice the way, to say simple words during reading,and we will be able to read faster. In Japanese, I can read and imagine the scene at the same time like he says, so in order to do that in English, I would like to practice it.

  7. Tamako(T4) says:

    The idea of practicing speed reading is very impressive for me, because I have tended to read one word after another, not the whole picture of the text, trying to understand every word at each time. I have thought it was not an effective way, and find a solution in his idea.
    We can practice reading the whole text, in a very simple way of reading the text rhythmically with some simple words hummed. I will try that.

  8. Shintaro Murakami(Tues4) says:

    The man introduce us speed reading. Common people read 120 to 250 words per minute on average. But he says you can read 500 to 1000 words per minute by using speed reading method. You shoud voice simple sound like abcde or 1234 when you read a passage and it helps you read faster . I want to try the method next time.

  9. Tao Ichino(T4) says:

    The man give us a wonderful advice!
    According to him, it is important to naturally imagine the image in very short time when reading.
    We shouldn’t look at only words.
    We are Japanese, and English is a second language.So we tend to translate English words into Japanese and understand the meanings.
    If we want to read English as fast as when we read Japanese, we must read English without that boring process. Read naturally!
    In order to read fast, practice is needed.We should read as many as we can.
    Rome was not built in a day…

  10. AKIHIRO WATANABE says:

    In this video, the man introduce a method to increase the speed of our reading. Usually when read one word, we remember a image corresponding the word,for example as soon as we see the word,”Fish”, we come up with the image of fish.The man teach that we should say some words ,while reading sentence, to read a series of words. By doing this, we can come up with the whole image of the sentence and read it quickly.

  11. Natsuko Nishida says:

    We can read only 125~250 words in one minute . However he says that we use excise ,we can read 500~1000 words in one minute. The excise is that while we are reading a text, we voice a simple sound such as “a, e, i , o, u,”or ”1,2,3,4,”. At first we can’t understand well a text by doing this .However we do the excise over time ,our skills of comprehension improve and we can enjoy a text.

  12. Wataru Kaneto (T4) says:

    I learned two new things from the man in the video.
    One is an ordinary way we read text. According to the video, generally, we use our throat to understand words we see in a text! In that way, however, speed reading is hard.
    The other is a better way for speed reading. Reading sentences while saying short phrase enable us to grasp them like pictures, which makes reading easier! I have sought a wonderful method like this, and now I’m surprised at its ease of practicing.
    I want to read more and more in this useful way.

  13. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    In this video, the man said that when we see a word, to understand it, we try to say the word and information of the wotd send to our brain. But people who can read fast understand words without trying to say. According to his story, reading text with saying “a,i,e,o,u…” or “1,2,3,4…” is a good training to read fast. I’d like to try his method.

  14. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    Through watching this video, I guess that we usually read English with brain and mouth. This means that our brain understands sentences in the same speed as mouth utters the sentences.
    By using method of “a,i,…” or “1,2,…”, we can improve skills of understanding sentences only with brain, because “a,i,…” and “1,2,…” are not related at all to the sentences we are reading. This will make us read foreign languages more fastly, as fastly as we can do in Japanese.

  15. Risako Ohata says:

    In this video, the man said that we could read texts fast by voicing simple sound , for example, ” a,i..” or “1,2,3,4..” . When I read English texts, I tend to read each word carefully,so it takes a lot of times until finishing reading them. I think I can read them more smoothly if I use this method.
    I was so surprised to hear that we can read more words than usual by only using this method.

  16. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    I learned how our brains work while reading words, which was very interesting for me. And the speaker suggests we do exercise using the mechanism. I am not sure if I can see the entire picture rather than a series of words while reading because the way I studied English to pass the entrance examination was not like so. But I would like to try this to increase my reading speed.

  17. Chinatsu Fukunaga says:

    In this video, the man teached me the way of improving my reading speed. For example the way of saying “1,2,3,4..” and so on. Although I usually read all words in a sentence, according to this video, it prevents me from reading fast. After trying this way, I felt it made me more speedy for reading a sentence. But I think it needs my continuous effort.

  18. Shizuka Abe(T4) says:

    This video is helpful for me because I want to read text faster. This video said that normal person read 125~250 words / minute. Maybe my reading speed is similar to this. However, prople who receive exercise can read 500~1000 words / minutes. I was surprised to at that fact. Moreover, the fact that when we reading, we said ” a e i o u …” or ” 1 2 3 4 …” at the same time is useful to read faster. I was impressed by that fact.

  19. Akane Okumura says:

    I learned from this video that saying “a e i o u” or “1 2 3 4” when we are reading sentences, it helps us to comprehend the sentense. If we enjoy reading, our comprehension level will be grow up.

  20. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    The man teached to me how to read more smoothly.I learnt we use each parts of our body in our reading and we are not concious of this fact. Also the methood he told is interesting.I think we can make the most of our inspiration by moving mouth.I want to try this methood.

  21. Tanaka Kotaro(T4) says:

    I learned how to train our speed reading ability. The man’s way is reading sentenses with saying easy or simple sounds, for example, ‘e,i,a,o,u’ or ‘1,2,3,4,5’. I can’t hear why this way helps us improve our reading skill, but I will try this because I think I may enjoy studying by this way.

  22. Nanami Ozaki (T4) says:

    The man in this video said that people’s avalage reading speed is 125-250 words per minute. I leaned that when you want to read faster, you should read sentences with “a.e.i.o.u” or “1.2.3.4”. And he also said you should see sentences as picture rather than the series of words.

  23. Kentaro Ando says:

    What I learned from this video is that it is important to understand a sentence. We should read sentences with thinking of them. 1,2,3,4 or a i e o u reading confuses me but this reading style is useful to develop my English ability.

  24. Akira Katagata(T4) says:

    When I read a difficult passage written in English, I usually tend to try to understand all words in a passage and as a result, I fail to know what the auther wants to say. In this video,speaker says that we should see the whole text ,not understand each word when trying to read a text speedy.
    This advice will play an important role in my reading.

Leave a Reply

