Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Predicting

on May 27, 2014

In the next class we will practice the skill of predicting. This will help prepare your schemata and provide information with which to check your comprehension. Please read the passage below then in the comments predict what you think will happen in the story.

“Dear ____,

I’m here at my uncle Tommy’s beach house. It’s about nine o’clock at night. I’m upstairs, by myself. I’ve got my pen, my spiral notebook… I don’t know how to start. I don’t even know if I can do this. But I will try. It can’t make anything worse… Outside it’s raining and dark…”

 

Also, these vocabulary words will be important: to make a prediction, comprehension, the plot of a story, the tone of a story

27 responses to “Predicting

  1. Wataru Kaneto (T4) says:

    I guess the story is like the following:
    A boy has to run his uncle’s beach house by himself for some reasons and he is trying. However, since it is his first time to run a beach house, he doesn’t know anything to do. Even though many problems or accidents happen to him, he will keep trying and manage to accomplish his task.

    Also, I think that the last sentence “Outside it’s raining and dark…” implies something bad will soon strike to the boy. May he be lucky and happy!

  2. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    I think the story might focus on a novelist who somehow stopped writing stories.Perhaps “my special notebook” is the note he (or she) would use to write out the ideas for his (or her) new stories. And judging from the beginning “Dear”, I guess the ex-novelist might be answering something like a fan letter to show willingness to be active again as a novelist.

  3. chihiro uchiyama says:

    Although this passage starts with ‘Dear’, in my opinion, the script feels like it’s not written to somebody, just a diary or something. Anne Frank’s diary had the same starting, it always began with ‘Dear Kitty’. As for the passage, a dark kind of mood can be seen on the whole. It seems he is hesitating writing so I thought he was a writer who stopped writing for some reason, and now he is trying to write stories again which is a tough challenge to him.

  4. Risako Ohata says:

    I think that something bad will happen in the story. We can imagine it from a dark mood of the story ,especially, the last sentence “Outside it’s raining and dark…”
    A writer seems to try to write something and to be threatened with something. I think he or she would wonder how to start it all day, so it’s about nine o’clock at night now.

  5. Nanami Ozaki (T4) says:

    From the sentence “Outside it’s raining and dark…”, I predict something bad will happen in this story. Maybe “I” am a fiction writer and “my” uncle has the same job. “I” fell a bad slump, so “I” entered “my” uncle’s house in secret and will try to steal his ideas.

  6. Tamako(T4) says:

    I think the writer is a boy coming to his uncle’s house by himself, not with his parents. Such experience may be fresh to him and something unpredictable will happen in the story, I guess.
    So this story will be told entirely in this letter, like the style of THE GREAT GATSBY, by Fitzgerald, in which the character Nick talks about his neighbor, Gatsby, in a long essay.

    But this writer seems not to be accustomed to writing,from the phrases beginning with ‘ I’ve got my pen, my spiral notebook…’. So the writer is not a professional author and on the other hand we can enjoy a fresh, not well-used, story in this book.

  7. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    I think the main character is a writer. He is a beginner, and he cannot afford to buy his own house, so now he stays at his uncle’s house. In the past, he applied his works to many publisher, but all of them were not adopted. He is going to start his last work – his last chance, if he didn’t succeed, he would have to do other job, have to give up his dream -, but again the wonderful idea doesn’t come to his mind. The second problem is that the deadline is very near! The long, long, frustrating night will start!

  8. Miho Hashimoto(T4) says:

    I guess this is a part of a letter or a diary which written by a writer, because these sentences bigin with ” Dear__ ” , and describes his behavior.
    I also think this letteris something like a suicide note because I guess the sentence ” It can’t make anything worse. ” may mean the worst thing is death, and the last sentence give us an image of a black future.

  9. Kentaro Ando says:

    I think main character in this article will do something for his life. And I guess he will start to write a diary to record what he will do. However, judging from the last sentence, his challenge will be failed.

  10. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    I think this passege is a diary.The writer comes to his uncle’s house and arranges the occurence which had happened around him.The expression “Outside it’s raining and dark…” implies something terrrible will happen.

  11. Tanaka Kotaro(T4) says:

    Judging from the beginning “Dear”, I think main character in this story try to write diary. But he or she is straggle to do it. He doesn’t know even how to start . So I think he has lost his memory. Perhaps he can’t remember past thing. In this story the main character try to recover his memory with his uncle.

  12. tufsmatt says:

    You guys have great imaginations! I’m enjoying reading everyone’s predictions – maybe they are better than the real story… 😉

  13. Mayu Morimoto(T4) says:

    I think this passage is part of a diary wrote by the main character, I predict, a boy. I predicted the story like this. He found strange matters during his stay with his uncle for a vacation. However he could not tell his uncle about that because of some reasons. Maybe he decided to solve the problems on his own, and he began to record his adventure. The sentence “Outside it’s raining and dark…” gave me a bad impression to me, so I think something bad will happen to the main character.

  14. Watanabe Akihiro (T4) says:

    From the sentence, I predict that the man try to write something letter to his girl friend, but he become melancholic by happening sad thing.

  15. Akane Okumura says:

    I think he is going to do something bad guessing from “nine o’clock” or “raining and dark”.
    Maybe he will curse someone related to his uncle with his pen and notebook.

  16. Tao Ichino(T4) says:

    When I read the sentence, I feel this story is a horrible story. When we hear the word “beach”,maybe we feel something hot or active. Although this sentence uses “beach”, there are dismal words such as “raining” “dark”. So I think this story is a horrible story.

  17. Mika Yamamori (T4) says:

    From this passage, I think that this is a story about young person who is worried about his/her future. I think this person moved to his/her uncle’s beach house because of complicated reasons and this person’s life is not going well in the region. And he/she comes to worry about what to do in the future. So, he/she writes a letter to his/her family or close friend to tell his/her worries.

    I think that because he/she has never written a letter to his/her family or close friend to tell his/her real intention, the sentence “I don’t know how to start. I don’t even know if I can do this. But I will try.” expresses his/her new challenge.
    Moreover, I think the sentence “Outside it’s raining and dark…” implies that although the present circumstance is hard for the young person, things will go well if he/she keeps trying to improve the situation.

  18. Natsuko Nishida says:

    I think that the scene of this text is written after something bad happend because he is upsets and he states ” It can’t make anything worse… “. Why he is in his uncle house by hisself ?
    Why his uncle is not in his house? I predict that he killed his uncle for some reason rerated to his missing spritual note and he will try to run away. He must run away in darkness….

  19. Akira Katagata(T4) says:

    This writer may be a boy. He was abandoned by his parents some years ago and now lives with his ancle.
    In this passage, he is trying to write a letter for his parents. However, he cannot do it easily because he still cannot forgive them. He has suffered from the fact that he was adandoned by his parents, and as a result, he does not have parents.
    The last sentence implies that he is going to fight against a huge difficuity in his mind.

  20. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    I think this story is about what happened to the writer and it might be bad thing.
    He writes this letter to his dear friend.
    Judging from the tone of this letter, I predict that he feels fear or he is surprised.

  21. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    I think that the writer of the letter is trying to start a new thing, in order to change the bad situation he or she is facing. The writer thinks that he or she has to do the thing, but he or she is also afraid of starting it. His feelings are reflected in the letter, for example, “Outside it’s raining and dark”.

  22. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    I think this is a part of a letter because it start from “Dear”. I also think the writer is going to tell his/her story that he or she experienced. The writer might have strange or scary experience near the beach, and may want someone’s help. Although I don’t know what happened at the writer, at least this is not a kind of fun story.

  23. Emi Enomoto(T4) says:

    I think it is a story of a boy who is going to start writing a novel along his experience. He is sitting in a room by himself holding a notebook and a pen. I think he will write about bad things that he experienced before writing this article, because the last sentence describes his sad feeling. As the story goes on, we readers gradually see what had happened to him.

  24. Ayaka Sakuma(T4) says:

    I think this writer will start writing about his bad experience or news. This passage gives me dark impression, so this story won’t be funny. However it seems that the writer wants to change something. At last, it will be a happy ending.

  25. Shizuka Abe(T4) says:

    I think that this writing is a part of letter. This letter was written by a young man. This man will send this letter to his old friend.
    In this letter, the sentences “I don’t know how to start. I don’t even know if I can do this. But I will try.” were written, so I think that the man want to do some big thing for him, and he will do that in this story.

  26. Shota Nihi(T4) says:

    I think the person who tried to write is the author. His uncle was dead and he wants to write the story of the his uncle.He can’t hit upon an idea because he is very sad.This story is like the documentary.

  27. Shintaro Murakami(T4) says:

    I think something unexpected will happen . ”Outside it is raining and dark.” I think this sentence is a sign of some bad thing will happen.

Leave a Reply

