Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Your Brain On Fiction

on April 15, 2014

In the next class we will be listening to and reading a report called “Your Brain on Fiction”. Think about this title, look at the photos of brain scans above, then in the comments tell us what you think we might learn from the article. Also, these words will be important for the lesson: Halal, fatwa, fiction, schemata, neuroscience, metaphor, cortex, empathize.

26 responses to “Your Brain On Fiction

  1. Hiroshi Yoshida(T4) says:

    The areas of Listening to words and Speaking words are similar.
    Also, that of Passively viewing words and Generating Verbs are similar.
    I think it shows that how to deal with words is affect on the area.
    First one uses sound to deal with words, and second one uses letter.

  2. Akane okumura says:

    I think we will learn how our brains react to what we are received concerning about words.
    It is often said that human brains are complex so I expect that they will show us different kinds of interesting reactions.

  3. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    Judging from the photos of brain scans, the report might tell us how our brains work when we do activities relating to words. I have learned that the brain has different roles depending on each part of it as the photos show.
    Also, I guess the title indicates that whatever we perceive is a “fiction”the brain builds up. So, I think we might learn the process of such an activity,too.

  4. Tamako(T4) says:

    I was interested in the fact that we use different parts of the brain when we deal with our language. I also noticed that we have already heard one of the words listed here- schemata.
    I’m excited about knowing its function more in the next lesson.

  5. Kotaro Tanaka(T4) says:

    I think we can know which parts of brain we use when we use languages. And I think if we can know how to train our brain’s parts which coordinate language activities,our study of major language will make progress.

  6. Ryo(Ryohei Kamiya), T4 says:

    I think that we might learn how brains work when receiving or producing words. Words are like fiction in that each word means somethig, but a word is not what it means itself.
    But we receive words so naturally that we identify words with what they mean. I think that our brain work specifically in order to regard fiction(words) as nonfiction(things).

  7. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    These four pictures show that when we use language, the different parts of brain work by how we use it, listening, speaking, reading and writing. I think that the reasons of this difference is from whether we know about the topic and whether it is passive or active.

  8. Mika Yamamori(T4) says:

    I learned the cerebral activity during the biology class when I was a high school student and I thought it was interesting that we use different parts of our brains when we perform different tasks. So I understood what the photos of brain scans indicate.
    Moreover, because of generating verbs using parts of brains more widely than passively viewing words, I think that we can use our brains more deeply when we understand something actively than we do passively.

  9. Akira Katagata(T4) says:

    When we listen to and speak words, we commonly use central part of our brain .However, when we listen to words, wider area of our brain works than when speaking words. I was surprised at this fact because I usually felt it more difficult to talk to someone in English than to listening to it. I need to learn about the brain structure more.

  10. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    I think we might learn how defferent the parts we use in our brain are when we perform each task relating to words.
    The photos tell me that our brains work in both right and left side only when generating verbs.
    I want to know the reason.

  11. Natsuko Nishida (T4) says:

    The photos show us that we use bigger area of our brains when generating verbs than viewing,listening to and speaking words. I think that just listening what someone tells and viewing and speaking written words are passive , while generating verbs is active. Activity might be related to the area of our brains .

  12. Ayano sato (T4) says:

    These scans show that we use different areas of our brains according to which skill we use. I think we will learn from the article how our brains act when we use words and when we understand stories.

  13. Risako Ohata(T4) says:

    I think we might learn the parts of brain we use when we do different things.
    As these photos show,the part of brain we use when we listen to words is different from that is used when we speak words. I knew we use larger area of the brain when listening to words than speaking them from photos,so I think there is complex relation between brains and movements.

  14. Shintaro Murakami(Tues4) says:

    Seeing this picture,I realized we use different parts of brain to deal with a language. For example,we use front part of our brains when we see words passively .And we can see we use central part of our brains when we speak words actively.
    The mechanism of brain is so complicated but I’m interested in it very much so I’m looking forward to next lesson.

  15. Kentaro Ando (T4) says:

    This article shows that a frontal lobe is activated when you do things actively and that a occipital lobe is activated when you do things passively. Therefore, when you learn foreign languages, you have to use your brain entirely.

  16. Watanabe Akihiro (T4) says:

    When we do various tasks, many parts of our brain are stimulated .
    So, if we can understand our brain’s function properly , we learn many things more easily.

  17. Nanami Ozaki says:

    In this photo, I can find that different parts of our brain work when doing different tasks. This is very interesting. We mainly use two parts of our brains while generating words. I hope to get more information about brain’s works in the next lesson.

  18. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    I think these brain scans show that which part of our brain works when we cope with different things.
    I had watched a TV program regarding the complex function of our brain.
    We will be able to learn the various brain activiity in the next class.

  19. chihiro uchiyama says:

    Normally we manage to speak, listen, read and write without using much effort. Although these skills are all related to using language, the parts of the brain that are working differ a lot. I think that we are going to learn the complexity of the brain and how the brain manages all of this work.

  20. Emi Enomoto(T4) says:

    I think we will learn how our brain reacts when we use words. This four pictures can be categolized; the first two pictures show that we use the back of the brain with reception, and next two show that we use the front with production. I think we unconciously use wide part of the brain to deal with words.

  21. Ayaka Sakuma says:

    From these pictures, we can find that we use various parts of our brains to perform tasks. Moreover, it seems that when we speak words, our brains’ reaction is different from one during listening to words. I think we might learn how interesting our brains are. I would like to know why we don’t use the same part of our brains to treat language.

  22. Wataru Kaneto(T4) says:

    I expect that we will learn how active each part of the brain get depending on different kinds of tasks. This article will improve the efficiency to study a lot of new languages with. Also, I think that this title “Your Brain On Fiction” implies illusions which we have in our daily life.

  23. Shizuka Abe(T4) says:

    I think that we will learn how to react to our brain when we see, listen, speak, and generate words. It is interesting for me that our brains work on many areas just when we use language. When we generate verbs, the working area in our brain is opposite to the area when we passively viewing words. Then, I think that if we want to make progress with foreign language, we should try seeing, listening, speaking and generating words, because these skils react to different areas.

  24. Mayu Morimoto(T4) says:

    I assume I will learn something about brain. I can see that while you generating verbs, you use wide area of your brain. Also, a brain while you reading and you listening has similar activity. I think I can find an effective way to use my brain if I know a system of brains, so I expect to learn something like that.

  25. Suzuki Kana(T4) says:

    I found each of the four photos shows different states of our brains while we perform different tasks and that all these tasks deal with words.
    Judging from this and the title “Your Brain On Fiction”, we might learn how our brains are trained while we enjoy fiction in different ways.

  26. Shota Nihi(T4) says:

    These four pictures show that each different task needs each area of the brain.
    For example , when passively veiwing words , the right area of the brain will work especially.
    And , when listening to words, the center area of brain will work.
    Human beings have different ways in doing different activity.

Leave a Reply

