Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Types of Questions

on April 8, 2014

question

The next lesson will be about asking different kinds of questions regarding listening and reading texts. We will be practicing with a reading from Tina Seelig, a professor at Stanford University. Please watch at least six or seven minutes of her presentation HERE. In our class blog comments, tell us about something interesting she says (don’t worry if you don’t see your comment immediately, sometimes it takes a couple of hours to appear).

My favorite thing she says is, “If you don’t ask the questions in a thoughtful way, you won’t get interesting answers.”

Also, don’t forget to read the sheet “Interactive English: Reception” and make 5 questions (one question can be “What do you think about…?”)

Next week, these vocabulary words will be important: factual, comprehension, application, evaluation, synthesis, Halal, fatwa, cruise control, extraverted, self-fulfilling prophesy, blinders, oblivious

24 responses to “Types of Questions

  1. Ryohei Kamiya (T4) says:

    What impressed me in this program is “The more we know, the more resources we can unlock”.
    The idea is fascinating that creativity is not innate but might be acquired through getting a lot of knowledge.

  2. Tamako(T4) says:

    I found the idea interesting that ‘you can use jokes for inspirations every single day’.
    Not only do we feel jokes funny, they open the new ways of viewing the world(which may be also one of the reason we find jokes interesting and exciting).
    I think creativity is not only a tool needed in various fields, but also some spices which make our life more interesting and broader.

    For one lecture, we can make questions from various ways.
    So I’d like to try to find the ways as many as I can from now on.

  3. Miho Hashimoto (T4) says:

    In this lecture, Prof.Seeling said about paying attention.

    I think I didn’t pay much attention about my ordinary incidents before, and might lost many opportunities to make creative solutions.

    So we should care about daily things, even if it looks trifling.
    That will give us creativeness or even a great discovery!

  4. Ayano Sato says:

    She says in order to be creative, we should think about our surroundings and think what we can make from them rather than think about a goal and try to find what we need to achieve it. I agree with this idea. I think we should consider with different ways to get creativity. I’ll try to change my way of thinking when I consider something new.

  5. Natsuko Nishida(T4) says:

    I think that the idea is interesting that most innovations come from putting together that haven’t been together before.
    Unusual ideas people have never thought are sometimes inconsistent with our common sense. However, they can make our life exciting. It is important to see dailay life in an unfamiliar way.

  6. Mayu(T4) says:

    I was impressed by her word ‘we can start anywhere and everyone has the key to the innovation engine’. There are a lot of oppotunities we can show our creativities, even with the gabages. I was really interested in the challenges to make gabages into valuerable things. Maybe I can challenge it too in my free time!

    Also, her oppinions about the connection between creativity and environment were interesting for me. They will be useful at the time we think about Japanese education style.

  7. Kentaro Ando (T4) says:

    My favorite thing she says is ”The way you ask the question determines the type of answers you get. In this lecture, she says ”5+5 has only one answer, but ?+?=10 has infinite answers. It is true that it is difficult to answer the question which has infinite answers. However, I think this sort of questions grow our imagination.

  8. Chinatsu Fukunaga(T4) says:

    I think the idea “culture is like the background music “is really interesting.
    The example is also accurate.
    Most people tend to see daily things in narrow ways.
    If they want to be creative,they should see every thing from various ways.
    I agree with her idea and want to practice it.

  9. Akane okumura says:

    Japanese ”shindougu” are useless but unique and interesting.
    So I agree that creative ideas are made out without a fixed answer.

  10. Hiroshi Yoshida says:

    In this video, I learn that any waste can be valuable things.
    For this, we need creative imagination and it will be increased by three things,
    flaming and re-flaming problems, connecting combined ideas, and challenging assumption.
    I want try to practice it and see something more creatively.

  11. Shintaro Murakami (T4) says:

    It is difficult to be creative when you become an adult but in this lecture she says If you want to be creative,you should see every thing from various ways.

    I think I tend to be passive when I learn something and behave usually and normally.
    So, I should try to think of problems which have no one right answer and want to find out various perspectives to the problems.

  12. Wataru Yamamura(T4) says:

    Before watching this lecture, I had thought that the ability to show creativity and inspiration is given by nature for particular people like Thomas Edison.
    However,Prof.Seelig said that we can gain creativity by connecting and combining various ideas.
    I want to become active to have questions and cultivate my inspiration.

  13. Wataru Kaneto(T4) says:

    Her idea is very instructive that “One of the most powerful ways to learn things and to gain knowledge is by paying attention”. It means that studying in school and reading books are not only ways to something new and that people can be creative even if they are not grown in the environment to foster and stimulate. Thus, by paying attention I can find a new idea in my daily life and widen the narrow ways of thinking.
    Fortunately, it’s possible for me to set the innovation engine, so I hope to create something astonishing and fascinating!

  14. Emi Enomoto(T4) says:

    I think the most interesting part of this lecture is that ‘the question you ask is the frame into which the answers will fall’. We are often said to think outside the box, but it’s quite difficult, because we don’t know what are there outside the box. on the other side, reframing question is easier way to get more interesting ideas. Of course, later,she said it is not enough, but I would like to start from reframing the question.

  15. Risako Ohata(T4) says:

    Prof.Seeling’s opinion that we look a creativity in much too narrow way inspired me.
    I forgot looking the world in various aspects and ways makes us creative and active,and her example “?+?=10” was useful for me to realize that.
    I learned the importance of looking our lives in creative ways from this lesson.

  16. Mika Yamamori(T4) says:

    I really enjoyed this lecture! It made me realize that we need a lot of things to be creative such as attitude, imagination, knowledge, culture, habitat and resources. Moreover, I was surprised that they are all connected closely.

    She says in this lecture that we look at creativity in much too narrow a way. Surely, we tend to look at things in a one-sided angle especially when we are confronted with problems.
    She also says that we can start anywhere to get the innovation going.
    So I want to make a point of finding answers in different ways when I face difficulties and answer questions.

  17. chihiro uchiyama says:

    I sympathized deeply with the puzzle maker/quilt maker part. The society we live today mainly nurtures puzzle makers which isn’t suitable for those who are missing some of the puzzle pieces. To nurture quilt makers, I think it is important to change the method of education in order to gain people with flexible ideas.

  18. kotaro tanaka(T4) says:

    The most memorable thing she said is “your knowledge is the true back for your imagination.”The more knowledge I have,the more ways to think I can use.Also the opposite is true. What is important to create and imagine is various kinds of knowledge. Although it is a matter of course, I overlook this. I can reconfirm this by her lecture.

  19. AKIHIRO WATANABE says:

    Her idea that by changing the way we make questions , we can get infinite answers and improve
    creativity is amazing me.

  20. Shizuka(T4) says:

    This video showed me many interesting examples such as Japanese art of Chindogu. I was impressed by her words and many examples. I learn that creativity is important to make our life happy. Indeed, we need many ability or condition, but we can promote our imagination by using many ways.

  21. Akira Katagata(T4) says:

    The speaker said that everyone has a key to an innvation engine.This idea encouraged me most in this lecture.
    We need to find a best way to make full use of a key to an innovation engine I have.When we can find it successfully ,we wii be able to achieve something big!

  22. Minami Iwakiri(T4) says:

    In the lecture Prof.Seelig says, “Your knowledge is the toolbox for your imagination.”
    I really want to increase my imagination, and her words encourages me to try to acquier various kinds of knowledge actively through classes or books.

  23. Ayaka Sakuma(T4) says:

    Professor Seelig’s example ”?+?=10″ tells me that we can be creative when we try to answer a question which has a lot of answers. I tend to look for only one answer in my life, but this action makes my possibility narrow. I should see things more freely, and I will learn to think something from various points of view.

  24. Shota Nihi(T4) says:

    I think it is difficult to make new things from nothing.
    But after watching this video , I understand we should see around the world
    actively and try to do anything else.

Leave a Reply

