Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Listening: Accents

on January 17, 2014

dialect

Accents are a way of pronouncing language that is particular to an individual, place or language group. Accents can often tell us where a person lives, their socio-economic status, their ethnicity, their first language, etc…

Watch this VIDEO then, in the comments, answer one of the questions below:

1. Out of the 21 accents, which one was the most difficult to understand? What was it about that accent that made it unclear?

2. Which of those accents are you familiar with? Which one sounds the best/coolest/funniest?

3. Tohoku-ben and Kansai-ben are dialects (pronunciation and vocabulary and grammar are different), but do you know of any native-Japanese accents?

14 responses to “Listening: Accents

  1. Miki Hosoda(T4) says:

    2. The pronunciation she mentioned as one of Seatle, Washington’s was the accent I was most familiar with. Personally, I really admire British accents, especially the Northern Ireland ones.

  2. Kaori Kubo (T4) says:

    I was familiar with most of the accents. I found the Scottish accent particularly funny because she mentions Walker, the shortbread. Although I despise stereotypes, these kinds of stereotypical jokes are admittedly funny to listen to.

  3. Fumina Watanabe (T4) says:

    2. Since I used to live in Australia, I am familiar with the Australian accent. I thought the Italian accent sounded coolest because English sounded like Italian.

  4. Kurumi Takeuchi (T4) says:

    1.The Scottish accent was funny, but a little difficult to understand. The grammer was different compared to those accents I was familiar with.

  5. Maiko Imai (T4) says:

    2. Although I lived in Ohio the California accent was the most familiar one. The Scottish one souneded the funniest. I couldn`t catch what was said.

  6. Ayane Kawahara(T4) says:

    2. I used to live in California,so the Californian English sounded familiar and also the other American accents too. It’s not the sound but it was funny that in the French accent part, the woman was speaking French and not English in the first place for about two sentences. The British accents sound cool to me.

  7. Yuto Takahashi (T4) says:

    3. I’m able to speak Nagoya-ben or “Owari-ben” because that is what i use to talk with my relatives back home in Nagoya. And also, I am able to speak 0saka-ben because I have relatives who live in Osaka.

  8. Natsumi Maruyama (T4) says:

    2. California was the accent I am familiar with. But British accent sounded cool, and I know a lot of girls love that. Also, Scottish accent was difficult to hear.

  9. Ai Inoue(T4) says:

    2. The Texan accent brought back old memories. I thought that the British accents were cool.

  10. Eri Fukui (T4) says:

    2. I was best familiar with the British accent since I used to live there and I speak in that accent. I used to live in the U.S. and spoke in that accent, so American accents were also somewhat familiar to me. I loved the Scottish accent, even though it was beyond my understanding.

  11. Moeko Ota(T4) says:

    2 I was most familiar with the north west and the california accent, but scottish was very difficult to understand because of the difference in grammer and strong accent

  12. Hiroko Takabatake (T4) says:

    2. The Californian accent sounded familiar although I have never been there. I’m guessing that it’s because many of my friends in high school spoke in that accent. I found the Scottish accent very interesting and funny at the same time, despite the fact that it was way over my understanding.

  13. Kyoko Nomura(T4) says:

    3. I can speak Hida-ben which is a dialect used in my home city and some parts around it. It’s similar to the dialect used in Horuriku area but we have some different accents and vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

