Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Reading: Travel Guides and Food Ingredients

on November 13, 2013

lonely_planet

***NO CLASS on December 3rd*** In the next class (12/10) we will practice our reading skills using texts from a British travel guide of Shanghai and some ingredient listings.

For homework, think about the characteristics of both kinds of text and also how you read them. Then write a comment about it.

16 responses to “Reading: Travel Guides and Food Ingredients

  1. Kaori Kubo (T4) says:

    I seldom read either type of text but when I do, I like to skim through information. I like to pick and choose the information that I am interested in or I need. I prefer to get shallow but wide information instead of deep but narrow.

  2. Kurumi Takeuchi (T4) says:

    In most cases I don’t read them thoroughly. I choose only the information I really need. When I read a travel guied I focus more on the pictures than on the text.

  3. Natsumi Maruyama (T4) says:

    When I read travel guide, I don’t actually read. I skim through and enjoy seeing the pictures. I think travel guides are filled with information but the authors usually don’t write his opinions.

  4. Ayane Kawahara(T4) says:

    I don’t have much chance to read them, but when I do, I remember myself usually skimming through the text and search for the information I would be interested in for both kind of texts. I think that travel guides usually have enthusiastic expressions to make their readers eager to travel, but I don’t think ingredient listings are like that.

  5. Ryuji Furukido(T4) says:

    While traveling around Belgium this summer, I used a travel guidebook to decide which place to go to. I just picked up some information I need and didn’t read the whole pages of that book. I think reading thoroughly this sort of books is a waste of time because they always contain too much information than you need actually.

  6. Ai Inoue(T4) says:

    Since both kinds of text include a large amount of information, you have to think about what you’re looking for and what keywords you should search for. For example, when you want to know about some tourist spots in Madrid, the information you need will only be in the pages explaining about Madrid and not in other parts of the guide book.

  7. Arisa Kurihara says:

    I barely read either types of texts, but I used a travel guide this summer when I went to Hawaii. When I read it, I looked at all the pictures in the guide book first and when I wanted to know more about the picture I read the texts next to it. Both types of text include too much information so I only read the parts that I need and skim through the others.

  8. Fumina Watanabe (T4) says:

    I think both types of texts include wide information, so I usually don’t read all the texts. Instead, I look at the table of contents and only read the pages I am interested in. I also look at pictures too, and read the description of the picture that I got interested.

  9. Eri Fukui (T4) says:

    Both kinds of text have in common the characteristic of giving us information that we can get in a very short time, and the context is pretty much summed up so it is easy to understand even without having to read every single word that is written. In this kind of text, we are allowed to skim through for the information we only need. Travel guides in particular have many photographs for the readers to get the image, so we are even more welcome to just skip the text.

  10. Maiko Imai (T4) says:

    I look at travel guides to see the information thats needed but just skip the rest. I think that i won`t really read both books. But skim thorugh to get the specific informtion I want.

  11. Kyoko Nomura(T4) says:

    For both texts, I only read the part that is necessary for me. After reading the part, I skim through the rest and read some other parts that I find interesting or good to read.

  12. Miki Hosoda(T4) says:

    For both kind of books, I think we don’t read all of the pages but only the parts we are interested in. What is similar about the two is that they are more of books to gaze than to read thoroughly.

  13. Hiroko Takabatake (T4) says:

    I barely read them but when I do, I do not actually read. I only skim trough the book and look for interesting pictures. When I find some, I finally start to read the acutial text.

  14. Moeko Ota(T4) says:

    I don’t read these kinds of books, but when I had chance to read them, I skim through and look at pictures and read the subtitle of the article and when Im interested in it, I start to read them

  15. T4 yuto says:

    Ingredient lists have the minimum but needed information for cooking. Ingredients and the amount.(sometimes preparation you need for the ingredients).

    Tour guides give the maximum information. From a map of the city to tips for getting around. And even things that you might come in handy when you’re at the city.

  16. hong soon hyuk says:

    I read those books not to first to the end but where I need to look at.
    This book is written to give tourists informations of the city or country or mountain.

Leave a Reply

