Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Listening Tips

on October 29, 2013

In the next class we will practice our listening skills in preparation for Achievement Check #1 that is on November 12th. For homework, please watch this 5-minute video of Kellee Santiago explaining why and how game design is important to real life. This topic relates to what you will hear in class.

Before you listen to her presentation, think about what you know about video games. Then predict what you might hear. As you listen, compare what you hear with what you expected. Finally, after the listening, critically evaluate your listening skills as well as the information she provided. Look at the questions below, choose one, then answer it in the comments.

1. Did accessing your background information and predicting help you to understand the speech? If so, how? If not, why not?

2. As you listened and compared what she said with what you expected, did it help you understand the speech better? If so, how? If not, why not?

3. How well could you understand her speech? What kinds of things helped your comprehension and what might have hindered your understanding?

10 responses to “Listening Tips

  1. Ai Inoue(T4) says:

    1. No, it didn’t really help because I was expecting the speaker to talk about how playing video games makes us use certain parts of our brain. Since the presentation turned out to be about the advantages in applying game design to real life situations, it didn’t really have anything to do with my prediction.

  2. Kaori Kubo (T4) says:

    1. Predicting didn’t significantly affect my understanding of the speech, because when I thought about the word “game”, I associated it with technical games like video games and board games but the speaker talked beyond such games and discussed “game designs” and how the concept is beneficial to situations in our lives.

  3. Eri Fukui (T4) says:

    2. I expected her to talk about what roles video games plays on us, and how designing a game is similar to designing your life, which is to mean planning what to do to fulfill your dreams and expectations in your real life. The speaker did not talk, however, about the things I had expected and talked about ‘patterns’ and how they affect us, so it didn’t necessarily help me understand her speech any better.

  4. Kyoko Nomura(T4) says:

    2. I imagined video games that affect children in bad ways, for example some violent games, and thought she would talk about how it influence the children. Actually, she didn’t talk about video games, but about patterns. It was easy to understand about the patterns, because I could easily imagine 3 aspects of the video game: challenge, goal and feedback.

  5. Hiroko Takabatake (T4) says:

    2. The topic I had expected was something that relates to negative points of games, especially video games, b ecause the word ‘game’ made me immediatly refer to those kinds of games. However the actual topic was very different from my expectation and so I do not think imaging helped me at all.

  6. Fumina Watanabe (T4) says:

    1. Accessing my background information and predicting helped me to understand the speech. From the title of this video, I was able to predict the contents of this video, and I found out that what I predicted and what Kellee Santiago talked about was very similar. It made the video easier to understand.

  7. Ayane Kawahara(T4) says:

    2. No, because when I first read the title, I thought the speech was going to be about some good effects of video games that are often ignored when they are criticized. I didn’t think deeply about the word “game design” and just the words “important” “game” “real life” popped into my mind and lead me to the prediction which turned out to be wrong. Also, I’m not sure if I understand the speech fully.

  8. Natsumi Maruyama (T4) says:

    1. No. I thought that her speech would be about video games. But turns out it was about games not video games. And in many cases, when we talk about games, it tend to be about negative parts of games. And I was expecting that. My predicting was totally different from what really is so it didn’t help me to understand her speech.

  9. Maiko Imai (T4) says:

    1. It kind of helpes me. I thought “games” meant sports and she was going to speak about sportsmanship. She mentioned it a little but what she said did`t relate that much to playing sports.
    Also I think I didn`t get her point throughly.

  10. Moeko Ota(T4) says:

    2 Yes, It helped me somehow understand the listening better, because by thinking about what the listenig is about, I know what I have to listen carefully for to understand the content better.

Leave a Reply

