Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Achievement Check 2

on July 11, 2013

On July 23rd we have our second Achievement Check. During the test we will listen to a radio program from the series called This American Life. Check out the website for the series HERE. We will also read an article from the music magazine Spin whose website is HERE. Check out both websites and in the comments tell us something interesting you find.

9 responses to “Achievement Check 2

  1. Eri Fukui (T4) says:

    The stories in the radio and TV show on This American Life are mostly true, and of everyday people, and I was surprised to know that half a dozen of the stories are being developed into films.Spin introduced artists who are in the trends and updates on them and other musicians, which fascinated me because I love western/foreign music.

  2. Kaori Kubo (T4) says:

    The American Life seems to be a very popular public radio show with about 1.8 million listeners. The show covers stories under the set theme for each episode, but it is interesting to note that not all stories are true. I was surprised to find that the radio show archive dates back all the way to 1995. Spin handles materials about all things music. It was interesting because the artists covered were not all mainstream artists – I wasn’t familiar with most of the singers featured on the site.

  3. Fumina Watanabe (T4) says:

    This American Life is a weekly public radio show that broadcasts on more than 500 stations to about 1.8 million listeners, and it has won all of the major broadcasting awards. Spin shows the stories behind today’s trends, scenes and artists. I was surprised to know that there is a section called worst new music in this website.

  4. Ayane Kawahara(T4) says:

    In the This American Life website, there was this thing called “Story Globe”, and it showed dots on the map the cities the stories they have to takes place. I looked at Japan and there were dots on Tokyo, Osaka, and Kyoto. In the Spin website, there was a “Tech” column and I thought it was a little odd because Spin is a music magazine(there were some articles related to music, but some others were just about new gadgets).

  5. Ai Inoue(T4) says:

    I thought it was kind of funny that This American Life says that not all of their stories are true. It’s also interesting that they mostly cover everyday topics and not the kind of stories we read in the newspaper.
    The Worst New Music section caught my attention in Spin’s website. To me, it seemed pretty stupid for the staff to use their precious time writing long articles on how the music was so horrible.

  6. Maiko Imai T4 says:

    This American Life seemed to be a popular.So I tried to listen to it but one show was longer than 50min and I gave up. Spin is a music magazine but also showed other themes like fashion and technology.I didn`t know most of the artists that were interviewed.To me the words and the phrases they used wasn`t easy to understand.

  7. Miki Hosoda (T4) says:

    This American Life sounded really interesting to me because the topics were about our every-day life. There is(or was?) a TV show for this program too. I could not find any artists that I know in Spin, but I think we can discover new up coming artists in this magazine.

  8. Moeko Ota(T4) says:

    I like how The American Life focuses especially on our everyday life, not politics and other difficult thing. Although it’s more than 50 minutes long, it didn’t make me bored out. The magazine spin had some of my favorite artist so it was really interesting to read through them.Also, The worst new music section was an interesting article too.

  9. Natsumi Maruyama (T4) says:

    I like listening to music so it was interesting to read the website Spin. The podcasts on The American Life was really long so I didn’t see all but I enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

