Interactive English: Reception

Reading and Listening

Longer Listenings: Budacast

on June 29, 2012

In the next class we will listen to an episode of the podcast called Budacast. Check out the website HERE and in the comments tell us something interesting you find.

While you read The Curious Incident pages 221-244, please keep a record of the characters and write the answers to the following questions in your journal.

1. Why do the black box-like signs in the station make him feel better?

2 What do you think “scarpering” means?

3. What do you think “to catch your death” means?

4. Why do you think that is his favorite dream?

5. Predict what you think will happen in the last 20 pages.

Also, don’t forget to read at least half of your book this week. You need to write the review and turn it in on July 10th.

12 responses to “Longer Listenings: Budacast

  1. Shino Yanagimura says:

    It was interesting to know that in a particular season, everybody goes to the Hungarian sea and leave Hungary. All the shops, even the big one will be closed, which will probably never happen in Japan.

  2. Ayumi Sugaya says:

    Hi!
    The picture of a row of houses along the street in Transylvenia was so beautiful!!
    It was an amazing landscape. It really was like a fairytale.
    Explanations about huge open-air market was interesting for me. I was very surprised to know that in the market, people could get almost anything from animals to commodities,
    drink beer, enjoy music, and even see squealing pigs.
    I think we don’t have such an interesting market in Japan.
    Ayumi

  3. Takumi Nakanishi says:

    Здравствуйте!

    When I watched the latest video posted on the website, I was a little surprised that the step between the train and the platform was very high. And I was amazed that some of the passengers had gotten a tatoo on their bodies. Isn’t it unusual in the West that people get a tatoo?
    I don’t want to, though.

    До свидания

  4. Satomi Togari says:

    Salam!

    I picked the first video (probably the one Takumi chose), “Second wife in Hungary” mainly just for the title, but whole video featured Uncle Drew and his wife waiting for the mother-in-law (who turns out to be “The Second Wife”) to arrive and Uncle Drew getting excited about the Romanian beer stashed away in the mother-in-law’s bag.(If there was any) Though I haven’t reached the legal drinking age yet, it was interesting to hear that Romanian beer was much better than that of Hungary. (What would German beer be like to Hungarians then?)

    Hmm.

    Salaam!

    Satomi

  5. Wataru Okubo says:

    Hi.
    All I came up with from the word Hungary was only the Danube River so I learned a lot of things. I skimmed through a couple of articles. To be honest, I preferred the videos because they let me imagine the atmosphere of that country more precisely. I found the beautiful buildings very interesting. (maybe art nouveau style? I don’t know.) Budapest’s Keleti station looks like a petit version of Saint-Lazare station! I wish we had such a cooler, more convenient station nearby. And foods also look nice and make me hungry…
    Anyway, it reminded me that I need to practice listening a lot. I feel sad when sitting at my computer with a straight face while guys making jokes and laughing.

  6. Kei Inamura says:

    Ciao!!

    I chose the latest video on that site, “Second wife in Hungary”, because it was on the top of the page and I thought that in Hungary people could have many wives XD. Although the content was not as I imagined, I wonder how the Romanian beers taste..

  7. Jiin Choi says:

    Hi.

    Budapest seems to be a really beautiful place to see some videos and read about what the owner of the site said!Especially, I was impressed to see the video taken on the snowy day.It seems to snow a lot during winter in Budapest,huh?Piled snow doesn’t look that much thicker than that in Korea though.(Sorry about comparing only with Korea.But I haven’t seen any snow in Japan because it has been only 4 months that I moved hereXD)And I’m a bit curious about whether it is dangerous to run the snow-piled cogwheel railroad.Anyway it is really beautiful that I wanna visit Budapest someday too 🙂

  8. Shogo Inoue says:

    Hi

    It’s interesting to see the beautiful scenery of the Hungary. It is nothing like the scene which can be seen in Japan. There are many retro building which are unique and probably seen only in Hungary. In the latest video, guy called uncle drew is taking a video of the station in Budapest and he is waiting for his mother-in-law to come. He says that Romanian beers are much better than the Hungarian beer, and he is expecting his mother-in-law to bring him some of those beer. The train is coloured in blue and yellow, and the step to get off the train are pretty high, which looks hard for some people to get off.

  9. saya says:

    I listened to the music of economi. Right now, the melody of the song remains in my brain and won’t disappear!! It was fresh for me. The song was sort of a music I have never heard but I somhow felt nostalgia. It is rock but contains some sadness. As the member of th band said, I guess it contains traditional music in Hungary. (Though I don’t know what it is like…)
    And this was the first time I heard Hungarian. I found sound with trill was interesting.
    I want to know the meaning of the lyrics but unluckily we don’t have Hangarian major.

    I want to find out more about Hungarian music.
    Bye

  10. tufsmatt says:

    Interesting comments guys! I love hearing about your perspectives on stuff like this. It lets me see things in a new way.
    See you this afternoon!

  11. Akira Nemoto says:

    I’m very interested in the article of Romania, particularly, in Transilvania. I really want to go there, and Torocko where the big event takes place. Having a drink there must be supreme!

  12. Masato Kurosawa says:

    There is beautiful scenery in Budapest. I want to drink Romanian beer because it is much tasty than Hungarian one.

Leave a Reply

